Call Number: Holland and Terrell PN1992.8.A34 A48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Covering a spectrum of genres--comedy, drama, talk shows, television movies, variety shows, and reality television, including shows such as "Good Times," "The Oprah Winfrey ShoW," and "Chappelle's Show"--this insightful work traces a cultural genealogy of African Americans in television. Its chronological analysis provides an engaging historical account of how African Americans entered the genre of television and have continued to play a central role in the development of both the medium and the industry. The book also tracks the shift in the significance of African Americans in the television market and industry, and the changing, but enduring, face of stereotypes and racism in American television culture.
The leading text on architectural research, Architectural Research Methods, Second Edition is completely revised throughout to include current trends and innovations in research, and discusses interdisciplinary involvement with design/build, sustainability and policy, urban design, product design, and product systems. This practical guide for architects and designers employs real-life examples of how good research can be used, from project inception to completion. New coverage of design studio-based research shows how the strategies described can be employed while new discussion of the use of digital media help frame the scope of research.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Stacks PS153.A84 T48 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Popular genre fiction written by Asian American women and featuring Asian American characters gained a market presence in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. These "crossover" books--mother-daughter narratives, chick lit, detective fiction, and food writing--attempt to bridge ethnic audiences and a broader reading public. In Asian American Women's Popular Literature, Pamela Thoma considers how these books both depict contemporary American-ness and contribute critically to public dialogue about national belonging.
Characterization of Biomaterials is a detailed and multidisciplinary discussion of the physical, chemical, mechanical, surface, in vitro and in vivo characterization tools and techniques of increasing importance to fundamental biomaterials research. Characterization of Biomaterials will serve as a comprehensive resource for biomaterials researchers requiring detailed information on physical, chemical, mechanical, surface, and in vitro or in vivo characterization. The book is designed for materials scientists, bioengineers, biologists, clinicians and biomedical device researchers seeking input on planning on how to test their novel materials, structures or biomedical devices to a specific application.
Call Number: Request through Summit. 1 copy ordered for Holland & Terrell
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Corrections: A Text/Reader, Second Edition is designed for undergraduate and/or graduate corrections courses. Organized like a traditional corrections text, it offers brief authored introductions in a mini-chapter format for each key Section, followed by carefully selected and edited original articles by leading scholars. This hybrid format - ensuring coverage of important material while emphasizing the significance of contemporary research - offers an excellent alternative which recognizes the impact and importance of new directions and policy in this field, and how these advances are determined by research.
Call Number: Request through Summit. 1 copy ordered for Holland & Terrell
Publication Date: 2012-12-20
Written by three leaders in the field, this comprehensive and accessible text for undergraduate courses explores all conventional topics (court structure, courtroom actors, and the trial and appeal process) as well as others seldom covered. The text first reviews the judicial function, the role and purpose of law, sources of law, the various types of law, and the American court system structure and operations, both state and federal. The participants in the system are discussed next, followed by the pretrial, trial, and posttrial processes. A wealth of pedagogical tools adds valuable related content, ranging from the points of view of court process participants to comparative information to hotly debated topics.
Easily accessible to undergraduates, Significant Cases in Corrections, Second Edition, offers a clear, comprehensive introduction to corrections. Rather than providing complete opinions, which may overwhelm students, the authors present case briefs, along with analyses, explanations, and short excerpts.
Easily accessible to undergraduates, Significant Cases in Criminal Procedure, Second Edition, offers a clear, comprehensive introduction to criminal procedure. Rather than providing complete opinions, which may overwhelm students, the authors present case briefs, along with analyses,explanations, and short excerpts. In addition to the case summaries, the book includes lists of all of the cases it covers, both in alphabetical order and grouped by topic; a short introduction to each topic; and an index.
Easily accessible to undergraduates, Significant Cases in Juvenile Justice, Second Edition, offers a clear, comprehensive introduction to juvenile justice. Rather than providing complete opinions, which may overwhelm students, the authors present case briefs, along with analyses, explanations, and short excerpts. In addition to the case summaries, the book includes lists of all of the cases it covers, both in alphabetical order and grouped by topic; a short introduction to each topic; and an index.
The field of cognitive psychology has expanded rapidly in recent years, with experts in affective and cognitive neuroscience revealing more about mammalian brain function than ever before. In contrast, psychological problems such as ADHD, autism, anxiety, and depression are on the rise, as are medical conditions such as diabetes, obesity, and autoimmune disorders. Why, in this era of unprecedented scientific self-knowledge, does there seem to be so much uncertainty about what human beings need for optimal development?
Call Number: 1 copy on order for Holland & Terrell
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
There is currently a growing body of evidence that supplementing the human diet with natural products is of major benefit for human health and well-being. Nowadays, the use of complementary or alternative medicine, functional food and especially the consumption of natural products, has been increasing rapidly world-wide, mostly because of their supposed less frequent side effects. Both in conventional and traditional medicines, food and natural products continue to provide valuable therapeutic agents. The issues regarding the efficacy and safety of currently available modern medicine agents have prompted the search for safer and more effective alternatives. This book contains a comprehensive collection of the beneficial features of fruits, vegetables, nuts and medicinal plants and herbs, against various diseases and how they should be utilised to obtain all their qualities and benefits.
Foodservice Management Fundamentals focuses on the tools necessary for managing foodservice operations in today's aggressive business environment. Reynolds & McClusky show readers how to position, manage, and leverage a successful food service operation--commercial and non-commercial--in a variety of venues. Using a menu-driven approach, the book will be full of management tools, best practices, and techniques. Reynolds brings a hospitality and business background while McClusky brings experience and expertise in nutrition & dietetics.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell QR100.8.B55 L49 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Emphasizing process analysis, engineering systems, biofilm applications, and mathematical modeling, Fundamentals of Biofilm Research, Second Edition provides the tools to unify and advance biofilm research as a whole.
Group Processes by Craig D. Parks (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
The questions of how decision-making group members reach consensus, and whether they are a more effective vehicle for decisions than an insightful individual, remain popular 80 years after they were first introduced. Researchers in other disciplines are increasingly drawn to the group as a focus of study and of course, groups remain the standard decision-making unit for most important decisions in most societies. It is against this backdrop of the rich history, modern development and future potential of the subject that this timely four-volume set has been created, with the intention that it becomes a unique go-to resource for researchers in the field.
I, Hernan Cortes: The (Second) Trial of Residency is a literary analysis of the most important documents in the Hernan Cortes trial of residency (juicio de residencia) using some proposed literary tools created for that purpose and the original documents in the Archivo General de Indias in Seville as well as a great variety of books on Hernan Cortes. Francisco Manzo-Robledo reveals how Hernan Cortes re-creates himself, from being the first illegal immigrant in the continent to becoming, for a short time, the highest authority in New Spain before falling into a legal limbo in the Council of Indies. This book is useful in any course dealing with Spanish colonial history or literature.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell BX7068.7.A4 T57 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Through a close reading of the church's records, Joel E. Tishken demonstrates that at the heart of the narrative Shembe and church members told of themselves was a sincere and faithful conviction that Shembe was God's anointed prophet and his followers God's new chosen people. Within their understanding of colonial South Africa, British imperialism and white supremacy were part of God's cosmic vision to provide atonement and salvation for Africans - plans they believed God was prophetically communicating to Shembe. The historical narrative, theology, and identity of Shembe and his parishioners revolved around this prophetically prescribed explanation for the conditions of colonial Africa. Thus, Tishken argues that colonized communities interpreted their worlds in much more creative and complex ways than scholars have recognized. This book is applicable to courses on imperialism, South Africa, African religions, and the history of Christianity.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Stacks BR115.P7 S88 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-19
As one of the most media-savvy ministers in U.S. history, Jerry Falwell figured prominently in the political mobilization of religious conservatives in the 1970s and early 1980s. Falwell's life and work touched on almost all of the major issues of the time period: the cold war, changing gender roles, civil rights, the revitalization of American conservatism, and the Reagan revolution. In his introductory essay, Matthew Avery Sutton traces Falwell's politicization and rise to celebrity status, using Falwell as a lens through which to view the larger movement.
This textbook blends law with sociology as it explores the relationship between legal systems and other social institutions. With detailed discussions of the various ways in which law impacts people based on race, class, gender, and age, the book's sociological approach introduces students to the concept of "justice" as it is applied in the United States. The book includes discussions of such topics as the origins of the law, the history and development of the American legal system, the sociology of law, court structure, and the difference between civil and criminal law.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell HD62.5 .H384 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-06
How should you respond to a request to remove copyrighted materials from a Facebook page? If you create a Twitter handle at work, who owns that handle when you change jobs? Can you be sued for libel if your posts are defamatory? If you've ever asked yourself these kinds of questions, this pioneering legal handbook is for you.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell DK781.V5 P72 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-25
In 1894, Eleanor L. Pray left her New England home to move to Vladivostok in the Russian Far East with her husband, a merchant apprentice . Over the next thirty-six years-- from the time of Tsar Alexander III to the early years of Stalin's rule--she wrote over 2,000 letters chronicling her family life and the tumultuous social and political events she witnessed. Vladivostok, 5,600 miles east of Moscow, was shaped by a rich intersection of European and Asian cultures, and Pray's witty and observant writing paints a vivid picture of the city and its denizens during a period of momentous social change. The book offers highlights from Pray's letters along with illuminating historical and biographical information. Birgitta Ingemanson is professor emerita of foreign languages and cultures at Washington State University. Patricia D. Silver, Pray's granddaughter, preserved and organized the letters. "Pray's letters are a treasure trove." Helen Hundley, Wichita State University "A magnificent collection of documents."
Mathematical Statistics for Economics and Business, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive introduction to the principles of mathematical statistics which underpin statistical analyses in the fields of economics, business, and econometrics. The selection of topics in this textbook is designed to provide students with a conceptual foundation that will facilitate a substantial understanding of statistical applications in these subjects. This new edition has been updated throughout and now also includes a downloadable Student Answer Manual containing detailed solutions to half of the over 300 end-of-chapter problems.
In the past several decades, molecular self-assembly has emerged as one of the main themes in chemistry, biology, and materials science. This book compiles and details cutting-edge research in molecular assemblies ranging from self-organized peptide nanostructures and DNA-chromophore foldamers to supramolecular systems and metal-directed assemblies, even to nanocrystal superparticles and self-assembled microdevices
Call Number: Holland and Terrell PQ1642.E5 H36 2013
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Montaigne's English Journey examines the genesis, early readership, and multifaceted impact of John Florio's exuberant translation of Michel de Montaigne's Essays. Published in London in 1603, this book was widely read in seventeenth-century England: Shakespeare borrowed from it as he drafted King Lear and The Tempest, and many hundreds of English men and women first encountered Montaigne's tolerant outlook and disarming candour in its densely-printed pages. Literary historians have long been fascinated by the influence of Florio's translation, analysing its contributions to the development of the English essay and tracing its appropriation in the work of Webster, Dryden, and other major writers. William M. Hamlin, by contrast, undertakes an exploration of Florio's Montaigne within the overlapping realms of print and manuscript culture, assessing its importance from the varied perspectives of its earliest English readers.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell PS3603.O5797 N87 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
In Nurses Who Love English, Paula Marie Coomer chronicles the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks to the emergence of war and a life wobbling under the impact of world events: the loss of livelihood, a year of unemployment, record gasoline prices and mega-inflation, and a return to hospital nursing after having been a contracted university instructor, with its accompanying strain on a 50-year-old body.In the shadows, events that should have been celebrations become emotional struggles--the empty nest, children marrying and becoming parents themselves, finding late-life love. Lyrical, emotional, and, in the words of award-winning poet Paisley Rekdal, "at once carefully wrought and yet full of spontaneity . . . both tough-minded yet fragile," the poems in this collection are powerful, graceful, and reveal the conflicting perspectives of a poet of Midwest upbringing who hails from a Kentucky mountain heritage, independent-minded yet vulnerable, a woman struggling to survive a difficult time in history alone in the rural Intermountain West.
Crystal Clear Science + Compelling Applications = A Balanced Program for Teaching and Learning In a concise format, NUTRITIONAL SCIENCES: FROM FUNDAMENTALS TO FOOD, clearly explains the scientific principles underlying nutrition while incorporating applications to promote a complete understanding of core concepts. This integrated approach provides a strong science foundation in a context relevant to students' daily lives and their careers. Supported by an impressive visual design, engaging case studies and interactive digital resources, NUTRITIONAL SCIENCES offers a unique, balanced program for teaching and learning.
Call Number: Request through Summit; 1 copy ordered for Holland & Terrell
Publication Date: 2013-11-07
In Print Technology in Scotland and America Louis Kirk McAuley investigates the mediation of popular-political culture in Scotland and America, from the transatlantic religious revivals known as the Great Awakening to the U.S. presidential election of 1800. By focusing on Scotland and America and, in particular, the tension between unity and fragmentation that characterizes eighteenth-century Scottish and American literature and culture Print Technology aims to increase our understanding of how tensions within these corresponding political and cultural arenas altered print's meaning and power as an instrument of empire and nation building.
One of the first contemporary works to bring together research focused on community corrections officers, Professional Lives of Community Corrections Officers: The Invisible Side of Reentry, by Faith E. Lutze, helps readers understand the importance of community corrections officers to the success of the criminal justice system.
This collection fills a gap in the current literature in philosophy and film by focusing on the question: How would thinking in philosophy and film be transformed if race were formally incorporated moved from its margins to the center? The collection's contributors anchor their discussions of race through considerations of specific films and television series, which serve as illustrative examples from which the essays' theorizations are drawn.
Skills for Communicating with Patients, Second Edition is one of two companion books on improving communication in medicine which together provide a comprehensive approach to teaching and learning communication skills throughout all levels of medical education and in both specialist and family medicine.
Call Number: Animal Health Library SF992.P64 P48 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Diagnose and determine treatment for toxic exposures in small animals with this quick reference! Small Animal Toxicology, 3rd Edition covers hundreds of potentially toxic substances, providing the information you need to manage emergency treatment and prevent poisonings in companion animals. To help you identify an unknown poison, this guide provides a list of potential toxins based on clinical signs or symptoms. It also includes a NEW color insert with 85 full-color photographs of toxic plants and of lesions associated with various poisonings. Written by respected veterinarian Michael E. Peterson and board-certified veterinary toxicologist Patricia A. Talcott, along with a team of expert contributors, this edition covers a wide variety of topics including toxicodynamics, toxicokinetics, effective history taking, recognizing clinical signs of toxic exposures, managing emergencies, and supportive care of the poisoned patient.
The Aesthetics of Strangeness demystifies this emergent paradigm by illuminating the conditions and tensions under which certain rubrics of strangeness-- ki and kyo particularly--were appointed as aesthetic criteria. Its revision of early modern Japanese culture constitutes an important contribution to the field.
A deadly lab disaster shakes the academic world of physics professor Mike Harris. When his ex-fiancee is murdered before his eyes, he becomes the prime suspect. As law enforcement and a shadowy organization pursue him, he must learn the true aim of the experiment that led to the disaster-before he gets captured or killed. The chase pushes Harris to a remote research center, where a powerful corporation prepares to unleash a weapon that could threaten humanity itself. Blending hard science with thrilling fiction, The Last Weapon is a page-turning, thought-provoking read.
Learn todays supply chain best practices from the fields most complete and up-to-date set of cases! In The Supply Chain Management Casebook, leading supply chain expert and popular professor Chuck Munson brings together more than 20 new cases addressing every functional area of modern SCM. Students, instructors, and practitioners will find focused, succinct cases addressing procurement, supply chain design, warehousing and logistics, transportation, supplier management, distribution management, supply chain strategy, inventory control, information technology, pricing, forecasting, demand management, supply chain risk, and supply chain coordination. This casebook is the most cost-effective and flexible way to provide modern cases for any supply chain management course. Each of its qualitative cases is supported by relevant discussion questions and sample responses; all quantitative cases are supported by completed numerical solutions, and associated spreadsheets where applicable.
What happens when a country suddenly splits in two? In 2012, Mali, once a poster child for African democracy, all but collapsed in a succession of coups and countercoups as Islamist rebels claimed control of the country’s north, making it a new safe haven for al Qaeda. Prizewinning author Peter Chilson became one of the few Westerners to travel to the conflict zone in the following months to document conditions on the ground. What he found was a hazy dividing line between the uncertain, demoralized remnants of Mali’s south and the new statelet formed in the north by jihadist fighters, who successfully commandeered a long-running rebellion by the country’s ethnic Tuareg minority to turn Mali into a new frontier in the fast-morphing global war on terror.
William Blake's work demonstrates two tendencies that are central to social media: collaboration and participation. Not only does Blake cite and adapt the work of earlier authors and visual artists, but contemporary authors, musicians, and filmmakers feel compelled to use Blake in their own creative acts. This book identifies and examines Blake's work as a social and participatory network, a phenomenon described as zoamorphosis, which encourages -- even demands -- that others take up Blake's creative mission. The authors rexamine the history of the digital humanities in relation to the study and dissemination of Blake's work: from alternatives to traditional forms of archiving embodied by Blake's citation on Twitter and Blakean remixes on YouTube, smartmobs using Blake's name as an inspiration to protest the 2004 Republican National Convention, and students crowdsourcing reading and instruction in digital classrooms to better understand and participate in Blake's world.
Opium and Empire in Southeast Asia by Ashley Wright
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
This study investigates the connection between the regulation of opium and the exercise of imperial power in colonial Burma. It traces the opium industry from the British annexation of the Burmese territories of Arakan and Tenasserim in 1826 to the end of the colonial era, arguing that this connection was multi-dimensional. The British regime regulated opium to facilitate labour extraction, and the articulation of a rationale for opium policy was inextricable from the articulation of a rationale for colonial rule more generally. Evolving discourses about race invoked opium consumption. Finally, Burma's position in multiple transnational and imperial networks informed its colonial opium policy.
Law, Justice, and Society by Anthony Walsh; Craig Hemmens
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
This textbook blends law with sociology as it explores the relationship between legal systems and other social institutions. With detailed discussions of the various ways in which law impacts people based on race, class, gender, and age, the book's sociological approach introduces students to the concept of "justice" as it is applied in the United States. The book includes discussions of such topics as the origins of the law, the history and development of the American legal system, the sociology of law, court structure, and the difference between civil and criminal law. In this edition, additional material expands coverage of race and class. Contemporary issues such as gay marriage, environmental justice, and affirmative action receive sociolegal analysis. With its wide appeal, this book can be used in courses as diverse as Political Science, Sociology, Criminal Justice, and Legal Studies.
Zoopoetics by Aaron M. Moe
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
Zoopoetics assumes Aristotle was right. The general origin of poetry resides, in part, in the instinct to imitate. But it is an innovative imitation. An exploration of the oeuvres of Walt Whitman, E. E. Cummings, W. S. Merwin, and Brenda Hillman reveals the many places where an imitation of another species poiesis (Greek, makings) contributes to breakthroughs in poetic form. However, humans are not the only imitators in the animal kingdom. Other species, too, achieve breakthroughs in their makings through an attentiveness to the ways-of-being of other animals. For this reason, mimic octopi, elephants, beluga whales, and many other species join the exploration of what zoopoetics encompasses. Zoopoetics provides further traction for people interested in the possibilities when and where species meet. Gestures are paramount to zoopoetics. Through the interplay of gestures, the human/animal/textual spheres merge making it possible to recognize how actual, biological animals impact the material makings of poetry. Moreover, as many species are makers, zoopoetics expands the poetic tradition to include nonhuman poiesis."
Congotay! Congotay! a Global History of Caribbean Food by Candice Goucher
Publication Date: 2013-12-27
Since 1492, the distinct cultures, peoples, and languages of four continents have met in the Caribbean and intermingled in wave after wave of post-Columbian encounters, with foods and their styles of preparation being among the most consumable of the converging cultural elements. This book traces the pathways of migrants and travelers and the mixing of their cultures in the Caribbean from the Atlantic slave trade to the modern tourism economy. As an object of cultural exchange and global trade, food offers an intriguing window into this world. The many topics covered in the book include foodways, Atlantic history, the slave trade, the importance of sugar, the place of food in African-derived religion, resistance, sexuality and the Caribbean kitchen, contemporary Caribbean identity, and the politics of the new globalization. The author draws on archival sources and European written descriptions to reconstruct African foodways in the diaspora and places them in the context of archaeology and oral traditions, performance arts, ritual, proverbs, folktales, and the children's song game "Congotay." Enriching the presentation are sixteen recipes located in special boxes throughout the book.