LibGuides: Hospitality Business Management: Home

Library Catalog

Search It is the WSU Libraries shared resource discovery service. With Search It, patrons can use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, media, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Business Source Complete. A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

EconLit. Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, working papers, and books dealing with gambling, recreation, tourism, and economic aspects of hotel and restaurant operations, as well as all areas of economics.

PsycINFO. An index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present.

Sociological Abstracts. Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.

IBISWorld. Industry research reports for over 700 U.S. industries, at the 5-digit NAICS; over 600 specialized industries; and 73 industries at the global level.

Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic. Provides company information and full-text articles from thousands of news, business, and trade publications.

Global Newsstream from ProQuest. Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers

International Directory of Company Histories. Provides in depth and up-to-date company history information for United States owned and international companies.

Academic Search Complete. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 other journals.

eStatement Studies. RMA. Covers approximately 350 U.S. industries. Nineteen of the most widely used ratios in the financial services industry accompany the balance sheet and income statement information, including various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. Gives both current and historical data, arranged by NAICS code.

Internet Links

Industry Data/Statistics

What's Hot: 2019 Culinary Forecast. National Restaurant Association.
Restaurant Trends in 2018. Rewards Network.
Restaurant Industry - State Statistics. National Restaurant Association.
Tourism, Hotel and Lodging Survey. Executive Summary. U.S. Conference of Mayors and American Hotel & Lodging Association.
Economic Impacts of the Hotel industry Across the Country. American Hotel & Lodging Association.
Travel & Tourism Economic Impact. United States. World Travel & Tourism Council.
Data and Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
Statistics/Outreach. U.S. National Travel and Tourism Office.
U.S. Travel Answer Sheet. U.S. Travel Association.
Impact of Travel on State Economies. U.S. Travel Association. Highlights of most recent report; no full-text available for free.
International Travel Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
World Bank Data. Search tourism or international tourism in search box.
Infographics. World Tourism Organization. (UNWTO)

Other Resources

U.S. State Tourism Offices. University of Texas at Austin.
USA Chambers of Commerce
City-Data.com
data.census.gov. U.S. Census Bureau.

Associations/Organizations

Industry Associations. List. HospitalityNet.
National Restaurant Association
Washington Hospitality Association
American Hotel & Lodging Association
International Franchise Association
U.S. Travel Association
World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)
World Travel & Tourism Council

Other Relevant Subject Guides

Business Plans

Company Research

Consumer Behavior

Industry Research

International Business

Marketing

Electronic Reference Books

International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by Abraham Pizam
ISBN: 0080454844
Publication Date: 2005
Covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level: * Lodging * Restaurants * Clubs * Time-share * Conventions As well as a functional one: * Accounting & finance * Marketing * Human resources * Information technology * Facilities management.
Dictionary of Travel, Tourism and Hospitality by S. Medlik
ISBN: 1281022268
Publication Date: 2003
This edition combines within two covers: * A dictionary of 2500 terms* Descriptions of 300 organizations* A biographical dictionary of 100 personalities* Explanations of 1200 acronyms and abbreviations* Key data for well over 200 countries* A concise bibliography listing more than 100 useful sources of further information.
An A to Z of Food and Drink by John Ayto
ISBN: 0192803514
Publication Date: 2002
Seasoned throughout with literary wit and wisdom, this veritable feast of gastronomic words and phrases traces the origins and history of over 1,200 English terms for foodstuffs, dishes, and drinks.
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew F. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 0195154371
Publication Date: 2004
In 800 articles (from over 200 contributors), the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. In an A-Z format, the Encyclopedia details the regions, people, ingredients, foods, drinks, publications, advertising, companies, historical periods, and political and economic aspects pertinent to American cuisine. With contributions from academia, industry, and the culinary world, it provides a far-ranging yet cohesive account of American history and culture from a gastronomic perspective.
Oxford Handbooks Online. Business and Management
Handbooks discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in business and management; essays are written by leading scholars in the field
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by Don A. Dillman; Jolene D. Smyth; Leah Melani Christian
ISBN: 1118921291
Publication Date: 2014
The classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey design has aided both students and professionals in effectively planning and conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internet surveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys.
Focus Groups by George Kamberelis; Greg Dimitriadis
ISBN: 0203590449
Publication Date: 2013
Focus Groups: From Structured Interviews to Collective Conversations is a conceptual and practical introduction to focus group. In this book, focus groups are systematically explored; not as an extension or elaboration of interview work alone, but as its own specific research method.
Mastering the Semi-Structured Interview and Beyond by Anne Galletta; William E. Cross (Foreword by)
ISBN: 081473295X
Publication Date: 2013
Mastering the Semi-Structured Interview and Beyond aoffers an in-depth and captivating step-by-step guide to the use of semi-structured interviews in qualitative research.

Print Reference Books

The Chef's Companion: A Culinary Dictionary by Elizabeth Riely
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TX349 .R48 2003
ISBN: 047139842X
Publication Date: 2003
This guide covers over 5,000 terms that chefs might use with customers and kitchen staff - in areas such as cooking techniques, food preparation, herbs and spices, varieties of food, wine, and equipment for the professional kitchen.
Culinary Fundamentals by American Culinary Federation Staff
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TX651 .C84 2006
ISBN: 0131180118
Publication Date: 2005
This book can support readers throughout their culinary education and certification, as well as throughout their professional career. It is organized to highlight and explain the basic competencies of a professional cook or chef.
The Flavor Bible by Andrew Dornenburg; Karen Page; Barry Salzman (Photographer)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TX651 .P34 2008
ISBN: 9780316118408
Publication Date: 2008
Drawing on dozens of leading chefs' combined experience in top restaurants across the country, the authors present the definitive guide to creating "deliciousness" in any dish. Thousands of ingredient entries, organized alphabetically and cross-referenced, provide a treasure trove of spectacular flavor combinations.
On Cooking by Sarah R. Labensky; Alan M. Hause
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TX651 .L32 1999
ISBN: 0138626405
Publication Date: 1998
Attractively designed and "extensively" illustrated with color photographs, line drawings, charts, and sidebars, this "contemporary" introduction to cooking and food preparation focuses on information that is relevant to today's chef. Comprehensive and well-written, it emphasizes an understanding of cooking fundamentals, explores the preparation of fresh ingredients, and provides information on other relevant topics, such as food history and food science.
Encyclopedia of North American Eating and Drinking Traditions, Customs, and Rituals by Kathyln Gay
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference GT2853.U5 G39 1996
ISBN: 0874367565
Publication Date: 1996
The Oxford Companion to Wine by Jancis Robinson (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TP548 .O76 1994
ISBN: 0198661592
Publication Date: 1994
Edited by award-winning wine writer Jancis Robinson, and with over 3,000 alphabetically-listed entries and a distinguished team of more than seventy international contributors, The Oxford Companion to Wine offers unrivaled coverage of wine in all its aspects: historical, geographical, social, scientific, and cultural.
Larousse Encyclopedia of Wine by Christopher Foulkes (Editor); Larousse Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference TP548 .L345 1994
ISBN: 2035070228
Publication Date: 1995
A visual and cultural feast, this generously illustrated book is a comprehensive reference to the world's vineyards and to the enjoyment of wine. Hundreds of full-color photographs, maps and drawings illustrate the country-by-country, vineyard-by-vineyard descriptions of all the world's wine regions from the United States and Europe to New Zealand and the Orient.
Best Customers by New Strategist Publications
Call Number: Holland and Terrell reference HC110.C6 B47 2014
ISBN: 9781935114871
Publication Date: 2014
Shows who spends the most and who controls the largest market share on over 300 products and services that are organized into 21 chapters that focus on entertainment, groceries, restaurants and carry-outs, travel, alcoholic beverages, transportation, etc--everything a consumer might buy.
Yearbook of Tourism Statistics by World Tourism Organization.
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference G149 .I73
Provides annual statistics on arrivals of non-resident tourists and visitors at national borders, arrivals of non-resident tourists in hotels and accommodation establishments, and overnight stays of non-resident tourists in hotels and accommodation establishments for 199 countries and territories.