Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Presearch: Exploratory and Background Reference Resources

Reference and background resources (General)

General Interest/Interdisciplinary Article Databases

Interdisciplinary/multidisciplinary databases:

These listed include non-scholarly (i.e. popular, trade/professional, opinion/policy) publications.

For more article databases, including disciplinary databases (i.e. history, biology, or political science) see the red Subject Guide button on the Libraries' homepage, or the red Databases button which will give you an A-Z list of all WSU Libraries databases. 

Examples of Broad-based Disciplinary Databases, and Examples of Databases based on Provenance (source) and Format:

For more article databases, including disciplinary databases (i.e. history, biology, or political science) see the red Subject Guide button on the Libraries' homepage, or the red Databases button which will give you an A-Z list of all WSU Libraries databases. 

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers are sometimes called the first draft of history - they are great for contemporary viewpoints of events, attitudes, and more. Some have a very clear political or other perspective; others try to be objective and factual. For more newspaper resources see the News library guide.

Finding Media (streaming, DVD, VHS, etc)

Hulk Smash!

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us