Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Streaming Online Films, Movies, and Music: Home

This guide provides an overview of the WSU Libraries' streaming media services, including Kanopy Films, Filmmakers Library, and the Alexander Street Press Music collections.

Streaming Media: Documentaries, Feature Films, and Music Collections


The WSU Libraries currently offer streaming video through Kanopy PDA (Patron Driven Acquisition) and Filmmakers Library.

Music collections are also offered through Alexander Street Press Music. All content can be accessed from both on and off-campus by locating your database through the SearchIt Databases A-Z List.

Kanopy: Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films. Kanopy provides access to more than 26,000 films and documentaries from a variety of independent filmmakers and distributors, including the BBC, PBS and the Criterion Collection.

Filmakers Library: Provides over 1,800 documentary films covering a broad range of academic disciplines. Films clips can be shared and created or embedded into a course space.

Alexander Street Press Music: The WSU Libraries provide access to Contemporary World Music, American Song, and Classical Music Library through Alexander Street Press Music Online. Each of these databases allow the user to create and share clips, as well as to embed links to content which can be used in a presentation, email, or course space. You can also create a personal account where you can create, save, and share playlists.

Naxos Jazz Music Library: This database of over 100,000 jazz music tracks by over 12,000 performers also offers a mobile app tool that can be downloaded for both Apple and Android devices after creating a playlist registration on the Naxos site

Using Kanopy

From the Kanopy interface at https://wsu.kanopystreaming.com/, you can browse films by subject using the drop-down menu, or use the search box to perform a search using your search terms. A keyword search will display a list of  titles based on relevance, and title searches can also be used.

For more information on searching, sharing, embedding, and closed captions, please visit the Kanopy Help Pages.

For Faculty: How to Embed a Kanopy Film into a Coursespace

You can embed clips or an entire film into a course space using the sharing tools found under each film.Under each film you will see a "Share/Embed" option:

The default option is the "Share" link, but choose the "Embed" tab. Copy the HTML code that appears in the box below the tab and simply paste the code into your course space:

Librarian

Gabriella Reznowski's picture
Gabriella Reznowski
Contact:
Holland and Terrell Libraries, 120-G,
Office Hours Mondays 12-2 pm;
Fall Reference Desk Hours: TBA

Viewing an embedded film

Once a film or clip is embedded into a course space, students will be able to click on the play button to view the material, as in the example above.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us