It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Holland & Terrell Stacks PL1455 .O88 2010
Designed for users of all skill levels, this English/Chinese Chinese/English dictionary incorporates practical sections on letter writing, using the telephone, text messaging, and vocabulary for email and the Internet.
The latest edition of the Oxford Chinese Dictionary is now available in the Terrell Reference area!
These can be very useful as a starting point for your research, particularly if you have not entirely narrowed down your topic. These items are available in the Terrell Library Reference area, and are a great way to obtain a general overview of your topic, and to identify further resources.
Contemporary World Writers
Call Number: Terrell Reference PN 51 C6235 1993
Described as an attempt to “alleviate such feelings of reader inadequacy” regarding the great body of world literary works. Includes biographical and bibliographical information, on 345 authors including Ba Jin, Bei Dao, Cao Yu, Chen Ruoxi, Feng Jicai, Liu Xinwu, Liu Binyan, Zhang Xianliang, Zhang Xinxin, Zhang Jie, Zhang Kangkang, Qian Zhongshu, Shen Rong, Wang Meng, Yang Lian, Yang Mo, Ye Junjian, and Zhang Ailing. Also includes a very useful list of critical studies in English, where available.
Great Literature of the Eastern World: the major works of prose, poetry and drama from China, Japan, Korea and the Middle East.
Call Number: Terrell Reference PJ307 .G74 1996
Contains information on canonical works, including the Dream of the Red Chamber and Strange Stories from a Chinese Studio. Includes detailed critical and historical information on poets such as Li Bo and Du Fu. Works of authors such as Lu Xun and Xiao Hong are also covered, among others. A list of "further reading" is provided following each individually authored entry.
Encyclopedia of literature and politics : censorship, revolution, and writing by M Keith Booker