This is a good resource for browsing (you'll see sociology in the HMs) but books covering sociological topics can be found in many other areas of the library, including political science, psychology, history, and more.
Search It is the Libraries catalog - you can use it to find books, articles, media materials, and more. You can order books from other WSU libraries around the state. The Summit system lets you order books from 37 academic libraries in Washington and Oregon, as well as the University of Idaho. Important, for Start of Fall, 2023!
(and this is important!) Rapido (our new interlibrary loan system) messed up the Search It catalog a bit and for now (until its fixed) when you search the default “Articles, Books, and More” scope it will only return items we have in print or fulltext which leaves out all the stuff we can get you quickly (Rapidioly?) via ILL. At the top of your results, you will see this message: Didn't find what you are looking for? Click here to expand your search.
When you click it to expand the search, now you will see stuff we have access to and everything else, under a new “Everything” scope. OR you can just use the Everything Scope instead of the default, which I recommend unless you want the limited results (which you can get with filters anyway). I wish Everything were the default, but I don’t make the rules. This is being worked on and I will update this when it is.
Use for finding books not available at WSU or through Summit. You can get to it directly from search results in Search It. The Libraries' upgraded interlibrary loan system is integrated into the database.
Academic libraries version of Google Books - "...is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world." Be Sure To Log In with Your WSU credentials
Has a lot of missing metadata/bibliographical data
Google Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database. Some magazines too. No access to fulltext in-copyright material.
Indexes articles, interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews in English language periodicals. Covers anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, and sociology. U41984 to the present;updated monthly.
Database of legal and government resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract. New and updated material added frequently.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool for creating custom reports of data related to demographics, real estate, health, jobs, the environment, education and more. Data comes from authoritative public and proprietary sources. It has thousands of indicators on demographics, the economy, housing, lending, quality of life, education, health, and more. Data is available at the neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, depending on the data.
An index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present. Note: There are less than 146 records with publication dates prior to 1890. Updated weekly.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
This resource contains the full text of Elsevier science journals with over 650 journals avilable in full text from 1995 to the present. This includes almost 300 title available at WSU in electronic form only.
Access is limited to subscribed titles. Subjects include: Business, Finance & Management; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth Science; Education; Engineering; Law; Life and Medical Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics; Physics; Psychology
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. It includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013 - current) is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Note: ProQuest took this over after the Census Bureau stopped producing it.
Designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method, SAGE Research Methods includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
"...a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. The works include journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials."
"This is a bibliography of publications that use data from the Roper Center. Some cite information on overall responses obtained from iPOLL; some are based on individual-level analyses of datasets held by the Roper Center, and others use our Presidential approval series or other indexes constructed from Roper Center data." Research articles only.
Note: We no longer have access to the Roper Center or its iPoll database, but this bibliography is still useful.
Citations for U.S. (and some Canadian) dissertations 1861- present. Includes abstracts for dissertations published from 1980-present (some recent dissertations offer a 24-page preview). Also includes citations and abstracts for master's theses from 1988-present.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy from 1991 to the present.
An online resource, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, covers today's hottest social issues and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, info-graphics and more. Supports social sciences, sciences, humanities, and current events.
Filmakers Library Online provides documentaries for streaming video use across the university's curriculum. There are 1,018 titles covering all academic areas. Particular strengths include history, health, and social science topics. You can create short clips.
Use this to find DVDs, CDs, and other kinds of media available for check-out from the WSU Libraries. Hint: in a simple search after you do your search you can filter by the Video and/or Audio "Type" options. In Advanced Search you can pre-filter by Material Type - options include Audio, Video for physical items, i.e. DVDs, and "eAudio and eVideo" for streaming video, music, and audiobooks.