Welcome to the Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies Library Guide. Here you will find information on locating research materials for gender, sexuality and women's studies. Please let me know if you have questions or if you would like to consult about your research.
The following list is a sample of specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference books that can be found in Holland/New Library's reference section. The reference collection is on the 1st floor behind the reference desk.
Black Women in America by 
A companion to gender history by 
Encyclopedia of American Women in Business: from Colonial Times to the Present by 
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by 
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by
This 3-vol. set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by 
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by 
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by
A three-volume set, The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (Charles Scribner's Sons) will provide a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, literature, psychology, sociology and others. This title is being created under an international editorial board, led by Howard Chiang (University of California, Davis).
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by 
A History of Women in the United States by 
Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States by The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by 
Penguin atlas of women in the world by 
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Menstrual Studies by
This open access handbook, the first of its kind, provides a comprehensive and carefully curated multidisciplinary and genre-spanning view of the state of the field of Critical Menstruation Studies, opening up new directions in research and advocacy. It is animated by the central question: '"what new lines of inquiry are possible when we center our attention on menstrual health and politics across the life course?" The chapters--diverse in content, form and perspective--establish Critical Menstruation Studies as a potent lens that reveals, complicates and unpacks inequalities across biological, social, cultural and historical dimensions. This handbook is an unmatched resource for researchers, policy makers, practitioners, and activists new to and already familiar with the field as it rapidly develops and expands.
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Race and Gender by
This handbook unravels the complexities of the global and local entanglements of race, gender and intersectionality within racial capitalism in times of #MeToo, #BlackLivesMatter, the Chilean uprising, Anti-Muslim racism, backlash against trans and queer politics, and global struggles against modern colonial femicide and extractivism. Contributors chart intersectional and decolonial perspectives on race and gender research across North America, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, and South Africa, centering theoretical understandings of how these categories are imbricated and how they operate and mean individually and together. This book offers new ways to think about what is absent/present and why, how erasure works in historical and contemporary theoretical accounts of the complexity of lived experiences of race and gender, and how, as new issues arise, intersectionalities (re)emerge in the politics of race and gender. This handbook will be of interest to students and scholars across the social sciences and humanities.
Statistical Handbook on Women in America by 
