Table Crosswalk - use this to compare the 2016 edition with earlier and later editions (the 2016 edition significantly streamlined the number of data tables available).
About changes to the UCR in (just) the 2016 edition
70 supplemental tables provided by the FBI (Note: these save as a zipfile) - these tables represent data tables available in earlier editions of the UCR but no longer in the official 2016 edition.
Defines the "Part 1" offenses under the UCR SRS (Summary Reporting System): murder and nonnegligent homicide, forcible rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, motor vehicle theft, larceny-theft, and arson.
Note: the FBI is currently moving to a more expansive data collection system called the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) but this will not change the data provided by the UCR program.
Lets you build customized data tables for the US and individual or multiple states - also include city data. You can download multiple years at a time, but it seems to be a legacy tool now, providing data from 1960/1985-2014.
Bureau of Justice Statistics - US Department of Justice
"The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.
BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. It is one of the thirteen principal federal statistical agencies throughout the Executive Branch, agencies whose activities are predominantly focused on the collection, compilation, processing, or analysis of information for statistical purposes."
"The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on crime and justice." This link goes to the Law Enforcement topic, but there is much, much more. Hosted by ICPSR.
You can find other topics, including Crime, Forensic Sciences, and Tribal Crime and Justice at the Data by Topics section of the BJS site.
"The Police Data Initiative promotes the use of open data to encourage joint problem solving, innovation, enhanced understanding, and accountability between communities and the law enforcement agencies that serve them.
This site provides a consolidated and interactive listing of open and soon-to-be-opened data sets that more than 120 local law enforcement agencies have identified as important to their communities, and provides critical and timely resources, including technical guidance and best practices, success stories, how-to articles and links to related efforts."
"The National Justice Database (NJD) is the nation’s first database tracking national statistics on police behavior, standardizing data collection practices, and spurring data-driven reforms in participating departments. It supports the Justice Navigator, an interactive tool containing targeted analyses of police data as well as a range of resources to help drive change in public safety."
Summary Reporting System (SRS) and the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) are part of the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting system. SRS and NIBRS collect data on crime incidents that are reported by law enforcement agencies across the country. Because SRS and NIBRS data are collected differently, they cannot be compared.
NIBRS was created in the 1980s to collect more detailed information on crime. Washington NIBRS data begins in 2012.
"JRSA, a national non-profit organization, is a resource center for researchers, analysts, journalists and practitioners of justice research.
We provide reputable, nonpartisan research; learning programs tailored for justice researchers and research consumers who want to be informed; and opportunities for peers to meet, share perspectives and learn from one another."
This organization conducts polls on politics, the media and American perspectives. They also conduct the Pew Global Attitudes Project, "a series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 90,000 interviews in 50 countries have been conducted as part of the project's work"