You can find scholarly research by searching a large multidisciplinary databases or by a searching smaller, agricultural database. There are advantages to each database. There may be significant, but not complete, overlap in coverage within these databases.

Best Databases for Finding Agricultural Science Research

• The Washington State University Library Catalog (Search It) locates pretty much everything you'd hope to find on a subject. This includes journal articles, books, newspapers, multimedia, extension resources, archival materials, etc. You will get the most search results using Search It.
• Agricola is an agricultural sciences database created by the U.S. National Agriculture Library. This database will return less search results than Search It, but those results will more pertinent to your research. There is also a free version of Agricola (which does not provide full-text article links).

If you are interested in seeing a full list of agricultural databases available at WSU check out this link.

If you want to see all of the databases available, across disciplines, check out this link.

Searching within Specific Scholarly Journals

Within those larger databases listed above, you can also search within specific scholarly journals. Below are two fantastic horticulture scholarly journals (amongst many):

• HortScience 
• HortTechnology 
• Horticulture Research 
• Postharvest Biology and Technology 
• Plant Pathology 

You can search within these journals by either entering keywords within the "Search for articles within this journal" box or by clicking the link under "Access Options" (which will take you to the publisher's website).