Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Title Abbreviations
Library Research Techniques
Tips on choosing search terms for the best search results:
Using search commands to focus your search to exactly what you want:
Use LibGuides @ WSU Libraries to find other search techniques.
Collection Development Policy | School of Molecular Biosciences | Owen Science & Engineering Library
The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in Biochemistry. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Biochemistry, please contact Betty Galbraith. For questions concerning WSU's programs in Biochemistry, please visit the School of Molecular Biosciences.
Search It contains the holdings for all of the WSU Libraries across the state, including: books, e-books, e-journals and print journals, government documents, movies. Resources from around the world can be borrowed using worldcat . Students and faculty at WSU can search for and borrow books for no charge.
Indexes, Abstracts and Other Databases
To find the full-text of the references found in the databases listed below use the Find It button. The Find It @ WSU service will provide you with a menu of options to retrieve articles, such as downloading article online and interlibrary loans
(1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult Biological Abstracts located on the first floor of Owen Library from 1927 to 1995.
Dissertations & Theses
(coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.
The Molecular Biology Database Collection
This is an online resource listing key molecular biology databases of value to biological research. This collection is intended to bring fellow scientists' attention to high-quality databases that are available throughout the world, rather than just be a lengthy listing of all available databases. The database is compiled by Andreas D. Baxevanis and published on the Nucleic Acids Research website.
Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains user submitted protocols as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
(1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
Pubmed: is an index to the world's medical, medical research and molecular biology literature. This database includes links to the WSU Libraries holdings, including links to electronic journals.
Also accessible via the Pubmeb website are the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) biological sequence databases, including
- Nucleotides database: is a collection of sequences from several sources (including GenBank, RefSeq and PDB)
- Protein database: that have been compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq. protein database is cross-linked to the Entrez taxonomy database. This allows you to find taxonomy information for the species from which a protein sequence was derived.
- Genomes database:The whole genomes of over 1000 viruses and over 100 microbes and includes macroscopic organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress.
- Stucture or Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB): contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 10,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors
- Taxonomy database: contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence
- OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man): This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI
Science Librarian and Instruction Coordinator