LibGuides: Roots of Contemporary Issues (Hist 105/305) Research: LRA #3: Finding Primary Sources Online

LRA 3: Database Specific Video Tutorials

(these tutorials feature pre-1980 primary source finding examples, consult your own research assignments for your specific primary date requirements)

Historical New York Times

Database Link

ProQuest Historical Newspapers. New York Times

London Times

Database Link

The Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Gale)

Primary Sources in Search It:

LRA 3: Formal/Published Primary Sources - Newspapers, Magazines, Government Documents and Other Published Materials

The Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Gale)
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th-century history and onward.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America.
Economist (London, England: 1843)
Full text, PDF digital access to the Economist including full-color material (post-1997 and as available)
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals and British periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
U.S. Serial Set 1817-1994 (Readex)
All the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. A rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Financial Times Historical Archive
This complete online fully searchable facsimile edition of the Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016, provides the London edition of this international newspaper, covering business, global financial and economic issues as well as topics such as industry, energy, and international politics.
United Nations Digital Library
Offers access to UN parliamentary documents, publications, maps and other UN authored and related content

H. M. Stationery Service
This site has United Kingdom government documents dating back to the 13th century; be sure to use "advanced search" so you can restrict your exploration to particular historical time periods.

LRA 3: Informal/Non-Published Primary Sources - Diaries, Letters, Correspondence and Other Informal Writings

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Making of Modern World (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The Making of the Modern World provides full text and full page image access to books from 1450-1914, and pre-1906 serials. Covers economics, history, political science, sociology, and special emphasis on banking, finance, transportation, and manufacturing.

Search It
Enter your keywords in the search box. By logging in to your account using your WSU network ID and password you will be able to easily borrow items from other libraries.
Finding Historical Primary Sources
Most of these collections provide primary sources for deeper historical coverage. The guide includes a link to the WSU Libraries' Manuscripts, Archive and Special Collections (MASC) department which features prominently the history of the Pacific Northwest. Explore the links in the Collections of Primary Sources and MASC websites to try to find a non-documentary primary source for your topic.

Learn More about Primary Sources

Other Key Resources: Google Books, Hathitrust

You may also find it possible to locate historical primary sources in the bibliographies of the articles and books you've previously collected. These are generally found at the end of the book/article, or included as footnotes. Finally, the Libraries' offer another more general primary source guide with a host of resources beyond what is listed in this guide.