Skip to main content

Finance, Real Estate, & Insurance: Home

Internet Links

News/General

Bloomberg. General news and in-depth financial market, company and industry information.

Bloomberg Businessweek

CNNfn. General and market-related news.

Financial Times. Domestic and international financial news.

Hoover's Online. Company and industry information. A more complete version of Hoover's is available through Nexis Uni.

Investopedia. Definitions of financial market terms.

Museum of American Finance

Yahoo Finance. Free company, industry, stock and personal finance information.

Google Finance.  Get real-time stock quotes & charts, financial news, currency conversions, or track your portfolio.

Markets

Big Charts. Historical stock prices.

New York Stock Exchange

NASDAQ

CME Group. Comprised of five desginated contract markets: CME (Chicago Merchantile Exchange), CBOT (Chicago Board of Trade), NYMEX (New York Merchantile Exchange), COMEX (Commodity Exchange), KCBT (Kansas City Board of Trade).

Bond Section. Market Data Center. FINRA.  Includes bond market activity and price information for corporate, U.S. Treasury, and municipal bonds.

S&P Dow Jones Indices

Mutual Funds

Morningstar. Mutual fund facts and commentary.

ICI Mutual Fund Connection. Published by the Investment Company Institute. Comprehensive source of mutual fund information.

Financial Market Regulatory Agencies

Securities and Exchange Commission

Federal Reserve Board of Governors

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA). Securities industry self-regulatory organization. In 2007, the National Association of Securities Dealers merged with the New York Stock Exchange's regulation committee to form FINRA.

U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission Federal regulatory agency for futures markets.

Banks and Banking (U.S.)

American Bankers' Association. Association for all types of banking institutions.

Bankrate.com. Information about rates for various loan and deposit products.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. Primary mission is to charter, regulate, and supervise all national banks and federal savings associations.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. In addition to insuring deposits, this agency is charged with promoting "sound banking practices."

Cassidi. St. Louis Federal Reserve.  Competitive analysis and structure source instrument for depository institutions.

 

 

 

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Best's Library Center.  Provides access to A.M. Best's analytical resource, Best's Insurance Reports, available in Property/Casualty, US and Canada; Life/Health, US and Canada; and Non-US editions.

Business Source Complete. A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

EconLit. Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, working papers, and books dealing with financial markets and risk, banks, investment decisions, housing and real estate, insurance, government regulations and much more.

eStatement Studies.  RMA.  Covers approximately 350 U.S. industries.  Nineteen of the most widely used ratios in the financial services industry accompany the balance sheet  and income statement information, including various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios.  Gives both current and historical data, arranged by NAICS code.

IBISWorld.  Industry research reports for over 700 U.S. industries, at the 5-digit NAICS, 500 specialized U.S. industries, and 75 global industry reports.

Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides company information and full-text articles from thousands of news, business, and trade publications.

Value Line Investment Survey.   Investment advisory service providing financial data and analysis on over 1,700 companies and approximately 95 industry groups.

Value Line - Investment Survey Historical Archives.  Contain backfiles with information on industries, the stock market, and the economy. The reports date back to 1998 and are made accessible in PDF format.

Electronic Reference Books

Print Reference Books

The Value Line Investment Survey.  Holland and Terrell Reference HG4501 V26        Regularly updated resource that evaluates approximately 1,700 of the most actively traded U.S. exchange-listed stocks, drawn from over 90 industry sectors and representing about 95% of total U.S. stock market capitalization.

How the Stock Market Works.  Holland and Terrell Reference HG4551 D29 2001

How the Bond Market Works.  Holland and Terrell Reference HG4651 H68 1997 

Business and Economics Librarian

Mary Gilles's picture
Mary Gilles
Fall Semester Office Hours: Tuesdays, 2-5pm; Wednesdays, 1-4pm. Or by Appointment.
Contact:
Terrell Library 120E

Office Phone: 509-335-8740

Fax: 509-335-6721

Email Address: gilles@wsu.edu

Library Catalog

Search IT is the WSU Libraries new shared resource discovery service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, media, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces WSU WorldCat.

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us