Reflecting the expertise and perspective of five leading mammalogists, the fourth edition of Mammalogy: Adaptation, Diversity, Ecology significantly updates taxonomy, includes a new chapter on mammalian molecular phylogenetics, and highlights several recently described species. There are close to 5,500 species in the class Mammalia, including the blue whale--the largest animal that has ever lived--and the pygmy shrew, which weighs little more than a penny. The functional diversity of mammals has allowed them to play critical roles in every ecosystem, whether marine, freshwater, alpine, tundra, forest, or desert. Many mammal species are critically endangered and present complex conservation and management challenges. This book touches on those challenges, which are often precipitated by overharvesting and habitat loss, as well as emerging threats, such as the impact of wind turbines and white nose syndrome on bats and chronic wasting disease on deer. Among the updates and additions to the fourth edition of Mammalogy are numerous new photos, figures, and cladograms, over 4,200 references, as well as * A completely new chapter on mammalian phylogeny and genomics * Current taxonomy--including major changes to orders, suborders, and superfamilies of bats and rodents * An explanation of the recent inclusion of whales with terrestrial even-toed ungulates * Updates on mammalian structural, functional adaptations, and fossil history * recent advances in our understanding of phylogeny, biogeography, social behavior, and ecology * A discussion of two new orders and thirteen newly recognized extant families * Reflections on the implications of climate change for mammals * Thorough examinations of several recently described species, including Durrell's vontsira (Salanoia durrelli) and the Laotian rock rat (Laonastes aenigmamus) * An explanation of mammalian biomechanics, such as that seen in lunge feeding of baleen whales * Breakout boxes on unique aspects of mammals, including the syntax of bat songs, singing mice, and why there are no green mammals (unless we count algae-covered sloths) Maintaining the accessible, readable style for which Feldhamer and his coauthors are well known, this new edition of Mammalogy is the authoritative textbook on this amazingly diverse class of vertebrates.

Reproduction is a fundamental feature of life, it is the way life persists across the ages. This book offers new, wider vistas on this fundamental biological phenomenon, exploring how it works through the whole tree of life. It explores facets such as asexual reproduction, parthenogenesis, sex determination and reproductive investment, with a taxonomic coverage extended over all the main groups - animals, plants including 'algae', fungi, protists and bacteria. It collates into one volume perspectives from varied disciplines - including zoology, botany, microbiology, genetics, cell biology, developmental biology, evolutionary biology, animal and plant physiology, and ethology - integrating information into a common language. Crucially, the book aims to identify the commonalties among reproductive phenomena, while demonstrating the diversity even amongst closely related taxa. Its integrated approach makes this a valuable reference book for students and researchers, as well as an effective entry point for deeper study on specific topics.

Tackling one of the most difficult and delicate of the evolutionary questions, this challenging book summarizes the more recent results in phylogenetics and developmental biology that address the evolution of key innovations in metazoans. Divided into three sections, the first considers the phylogenetic issues involving this area of the tree of life and the elucidation of those relationships that continue to trouble taxonomists. The second section considers the developmental biology of metazoan evolution including the development of the nervous system, sensory organs, and physiological maturation. Part three focuses on the evolution of pattern and process in the Metazoa.

In 2014, Firefly Books published the beautiful and comprehensive reference, World of Birds by Jonathan Elphick. Sales and reviews of the book were excellent: "The value-to-cost ratio makes this a worthy addition to the ornithology collection in most libraries." -- Booklist (starred review) "An excellent reference book that will occupy shelves in many libraries. For those needing just one general bird reference, this might be it. Highly recommended." -- Choice The World of Birds had two parts, the first, "Birds," provided in-depth coverage of birds in general, such as anatomy, behavior, reproduction, range and more. The second part was a species directory. Since then, however, many changes have occurred in the classification of species, an expected outcome of the increasing use of DNA analysis, and this is the updated second part as a stand-alone book. This ultimate handbook contains a comprehensive survey of the world's birds, reflecting the latest classification changes to the Howard and Moore Complete Checklist of the Birds of the World. It includes an introduction to each of the bird orders and a detailed account and concise fact panel for every one of the 234 families. It details the appearance, behavior and lifestyle of the family members, while a glossary, further reading list and an index ensure easy reference. Readers can learn more about each bird species. What's the difference between a crow and a jay? How many species of sparrow are there? What song do cuckoos really sing? All the key facts about the world's orders and families of birds are in The Handbook of Bird Families. Reformatted, resized and fully updated, it is the ideal up-to-date companion to the highly acclaimed reference The World of Birds published in 2014. With clear, lively text, informative fact boxes and special photography from award-winning wildlife photographer David Tipling and other top photographers, The Handbook of Bird Families belongs on the shelf of everyone interested in birds. The International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) is the global authority on the status of the natural world. It oversees the IUCN Red List, which catalogues those plants and animals facing a higher risk of global extinction (Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable). BirdLife is dedicated to the survival of bird species in the wild.

Still compact and the perfect size for travelling, Pacific Reef  Shore has been updated with new species, up-to-date scientific information and many brilliant photographs of the more than 300 common plants and animals found in the intertidal zone off the coast of North America--from the Aleutian Islands, Alaska, to Point Conception, California. Each entry includes a description summary with information on size and habitat, and a photo for species verification, giving readers an overview of local sea life without weighing them down as they explore the shore. The world's oceans contain mysteries that scientists are discovering every day. While the depths of the Pacific may seem a world away, the intertidal zones are at the fingertips of any diver, kayaker or beach stroller curious about the various plants and wildlife that dwell there. Lightweight, inexpensive and accessible, Pacific Reef  Shore is the indispensable reference for any curious visitor to the shore.