Leadership in Veterinary Medicine by Clive ElwoodLEADERSHIP IN VETERINARY MEDICINE Leadership in Veterinary Medicine provides both theoretical and practical information for veterinary professionals who are contemplating leadership or currently facing day-to-day leadership challenges. This much-needed book introduces and explores key leadership concepts in the veterinary context whilst encouraging self-reflection through real-world scenarios. Each chapter outlines a particular leadership concept or issue and includes a topic summary, discussion questions, full references and further reading suggestions. This thought-provoking text: Explores the principal areas of leadership for both veterinary professionals and for those leading veterinary professionals Discusses various leadership styles, competencies, behaviours and perspectives Addresses topics such as leadership assessment, organisational dynamics, interpersonal communication, remote and virtual leadership, and collaboration skills Assists readers in developing strategy, leading change, creating effective teams and improving staff engagement Includes practical cases and examples highlighting challenges in veterinary leadership Leadership in Veterinary Medicine is a must-read for all veterinary professionals in leadership posts, for those aspiring to be leaders and for instructors in veterinary schools and veterinary nursing training organisations.
Call Number: SF756.28 .S65 Animal Health Library Stacks
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Workforce Needs in Veterinary Medicine by Committee to Assess the Current and Future Workforce Needs in Veterinary Medicine; Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources; Board on Higher Education and Workforce; Division on Earth and Life Studies; Policy and Global AffairsThe U.S. veterinary medical profession contributes to society in diverse ways, from developing drugs and protecting the food supply to treating companion animals and investigating animal diseases in the wild. In a study of the issues related to the veterinary medical workforce, including demographics, workforce supply, trends affecting job availability, and capacity of the educational system to fill future demands, a National Research Council committee found that the profession faces important challenges in maintaining the economic sustainability of veterinary practice and education, building its scholarly foundations, and evolving veterinary service to meet changing societal needs. Many concerns about the profession came into focus following the outbreak of West Nile fever in 1999, and the subsequent outbreaks of SARS, monkeypox, bovine spongiform encephalopathy, highly pathogenic avian influenza, H1N1 influenza, and a variety of food safety and environmental issues heightened public concerns. They also raised further questions about the directions of veterinary medicine and the capacity of public health service the profession provides both in the United States and abroad. To address some of the problems facing the veterinary profession, greater public and private support for education and research in veterinary medicine is needed. The public, policymakers, and even medical professionals are frequently unaware of how veterinary medicine fundamentally supports both animal and human health and well-being. This report seeks to broaden the public's understanding and attempts to anticipate some of the needs and measures that are essential for the profession to fulfill given its changing roles in the 21st century.
Call Number: National Academies Press free to read online
Publication Date: 2013-10-17
Leaders of the Pack by Donald F. Smith (Editor); Julie Kumble (Editor)Veterinary medicine has undergone sweeping changes in the last few decades. Women now account for 55 percent of the active veterinarians in the field, and nearly 80 percent of veterinary students are women. However, average salaries have dropped as this shift has occurred, and even with women in the vast majority, only 25 percent of leadership roles are held by women. These trends point to gender-based inequality that veterinary medicine, a profession that tilts so heavily toward women, is struggling to address. How will the profession respond? What will this mean for our students and schools? What will it mean for our pets entrusted to veterinarian care? Who has succeeded in these situations? Who is taking action to lead change? What can we learn from them to lead the pack in our lives? Leaders of the Pack, by Julie Kumble and Dr. Donald Smith, explores key themes in leadership and highlights women in veterinary medicine whose stories embody those themes. In it, Kumble and Smith cull over three years of interviews to profile a wide variety of women as they share triumphs and challenges, lucky as well as tough breaks, and the sound advice and words that inspired them to take their careers in unanticipated directions. By sharing unique stories that illuminate different paths to leadership and reflecting on best practices through commentary and research, Leaders of the Pack will allow more female leaders to create wider pathways to the top of their profession.
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
The New Vet's Handbook by Clare Tapsfield-WrightEntering the veterinary profession after leaving vet school is a challenging stage of the new vet's career. Finding the right first placement, fitting in with colleagues, adapting to the practice environment and understanding what's expected of you clinically, professionally, ethically and academically are all challenges that face the new graduate. Attrition rates and reports of dissatisfaction of new graduates are high and a matter of concern to the profession and it is recognised that extra support and guidance is needed. The New Vet's Handbook acts as a guidebook for newly qualified vets on personal and professional issues, covering employment options, interviews, mentoring, working with clients, patients and colleagues, consulting advice, dealing with euthanasia, record keeping, veterinary standards, training and CPD, career options, professional skills and avoiding pitfalls relating to social media, drugs and ethical issues. The book also covers topics specific to vets in small animal and large animal practice. Written in a supportive and lighthearted way, The New Vet's Handbook aims to provide advice based on long held experience and reduce stress at a challenging time. It will be an essential read for newly qualified vets and final year vet students.