Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Tea: Home

COVID-19 Updates

COVID-19 Updates

Pullman Libraries buildings remain closed to in-person visits. Please check our Remote Services during COVID-19 for available services.

Some of My Favorite Things...

Helpful Links

General WSU Libraries Resources for Instructors

Hot Articles...Via bXRecommender

(Click the down arrow to see articles in specific disciplines)

Spring 2021 Update: New and/or Helpful WSU Libraries Resources and Services

Check us out on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

 

  • Adams Matthew Trial (through 5/29/21) AM explorer, 1410-2016 1500-1920 AM Explorer is a federated search platform to access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Material is sourced from archives and libraries around the world. 
  • World News Connection /FBIS trial though 5/14/21 – The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS “…monitored, translated and disseminated…openly available news and information from media sources outside the US…” this is a really cool source - learn more about the Foreign Broadcast Information Service  
  • We bumped up our abstract and indexing subscription for Philosopher’s Index to a subscription that includes full-text content for the next year. Normally this is not something I would do, but it turns out the humanities *are* different and it was less than $700 – also our Religion liaison librarian paid for half. I don’t know if we will be able to provide this after this year, however since the price will go up to normal rates. 

Temporary Access, Spring 2021

  • JSTOR  - we have access to ALL their journal content (they divide it into specific collections, and we don’t subscribe to all of them), and the ArtStor database through the end of June *2022*.. We are also getting access to Security Studies through June 2021 as well, so – please, take advantage of this!  
  • We will be continuing our Roper Center (survey data iPoll database plus more) access through 3/31/2022. Probably not after, however. 
  • We have access to PolicyMap through the end of [updated!] June of 2021. (They have a new version with extra functionality but to download data you have to use the legacy (default) version) - blog at Mapchats Blog | PolicyMap to provide some use cases, etc
  • Adams Matthew Trial (through 5/29/21) AM explorer, 1410-2016 1500-1920 AM Explorer is a federated search platform to access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Material is sourced from archives and libraries around the world. 
  • World News Connection /FBIS trial though 5/14/21 – The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS “…monitored, translated and disseminated…openly available news and information from media sources outside the US…” this is a really cool source - learn more about the Foreign Broadcast Information Service

What is PolicyMap?

An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.  
 Look for Blog Posts, Customer Stories, and sample Maps, Tables, and Reports.

  • Our MapChats Blog features stories on Mapping Consumer Spending Habits, Internet Access Disparities, and the Social Drivers of Health and more!
  • Our Academic Web Page gives insight into how other universities and colleges use our data and mapping tool
  • Visit PolicyMap Support for tutorials, training videos, the training calendar.
  • A complete list of our data related to Demographics, Incomes and Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education and Health can be found here

Social Sciences (WSU) Library Updates ...from Lorena

Loading ...

Librarian Corner...

Lorena O'English's picture
Lorena O'English
Contact:
Terrell Library 120-D
Washington State University

Office Hours: (Fall, 2020): Click the "Schedule Appointment" link above to set up a Zoom appointment, or email me directly via the button.
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us