Skip to main content

Systematic Reviews

This guide will introduce you to the process of conducting a systematic review.

Tools for Managing Reviews

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a free citation management software. With EndNote Basic, you can: import references directly from multiple databases; organize and manage references; and format bibliographies and manuscripts.

Abstrackr

From Brown University. Open and free to all. It's set up to automatically pull in abstracts from NLM using PMIDs. One can also transfer abstracts over from EndNote. Allows for collaborative screening of abstracts.

Covidence

Covidence is a not-for-profit service dedicated to improving the use of evidence in healthcare decision-making. The service partners are the Alfred Hospital, Monash University, National ICT Australia and the University of London.

EPPI-Reviewer 4

EPPI-Reviewer 4 is software for all types of literature reviews, including systematic reviews, meta-analyses, 'narrative' reviews and meta-ethnographies.

Data Extraction Tools

Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)

From AHRQ, SRDR is a powerful and easy-to-use tool for extraction and management of data for systematic reviews or meta-analyses. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data

DistillerSR

DistillerSR is an online application designed specifically for the screening and data extraction phases of a systematic review. Subscription Fee. Additional technical information at: http://www.tectutorials.com/TERDistillerSR.html

Creating Evidence Tables

Cochrane Handbook: 'Characteristics of included studies' table

See Part 2, Chapter 11.2.2

"Evidence Table" search in Google

Find examples of evidence tables.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us