Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: while we try to keep our guides as up-to-date as possible, the most current information on WSU Pullman Library operations and Services can be found at the links below:
The WSU Libraries have a variety of Spanish-language books, films, audiobooks, children's books, and graphic novels for the support of Spanish-language acquisition. Please consult the individual tabs at the top of this page to access information on these formats.
For more information about studying Spanish language and culture at WSU, please see the School of Languages, Cultures, and Race Spanish Program Page.
Dictionaries available in Terrell Reference
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC4640 .O94 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-19
Covers modern idiomatic expressions, specialized terminology, colloquialisms and provides sample sentences to illustrate use. Also contains an excellent supplemental section which covers all kinds of correspondence and provides sample letters, including email examples. Text boxes illustrate special language considerations, such as the use of the verb “hacer” and expressions for talking about the weather.
Harrap Spanish Dictionary by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC4640 .H334 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
A great resource for language students as it includes full explanation of words and their use. Also provides coverage of the international varieties of both English and Spanish. A special feature are the “false friends” boxes found throughout the dictionary to alert language learners to words which may seem to translate easily from one language to the other, but which however have distinctly different meanings. Entries also highlight idiomatic expressions and proverbs.
Barron's Spanish-English Dictionary by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC4640 .S593 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
A useful basic dictionary. Appendix includes a handy list of “falsos amigos”. Supplemental “information” boxes included throughout the entries expand on special terms, language variants, grammar, as well as provide historical and cultural background
Enciclopedia Del Idioma by
Call Number: MASC PC4667 .A4 1968
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
A “universal and historical dictionary of the Spanish language”, providing extensive etymological background for each entry. Includes literary examples of use from over 150 authors, from the medieval to the contemporary period.
Larousse gran diccionario : inglés-español, español-inglés by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC 4640 L393 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Provides in-depth coverage of the vocabulary as well as a wide range of idiomatic uses and expressions. Also includes hundreds of illustrations and specialized terminology for the sciences, sports, business, law, politics and journalism.
Catalan Dictionary by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC3891 .C38 2000
Publication Date: 1994-07-08
An invaluable resource for both the linguist and the serious learner and user of Catalan, this two-way dictionary contains 36,000 entries that provide phonetic transcriptions, dialectical variants, examples and expressions to aid comprehension.
501 Spanish Verbs by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC4271 .K38 1996
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Also included is a section covering 30 practical situations that you may find yourself in as a tourist, from checking out of a hotel, to ordering food at a pastry shop.
Diccionario de Modismos Inglese y Norteamericanos by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC4460 .T67x 1977
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
Provides the Spanish equivalent to many common English idiomatic expressions. “El modismo es la alegria del idioma, el color o la sal, o como se le quiera llamar” – from the title’s preface.
Diccionario de autoridades. by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC 4625 A3 1726a
A facsimile copy of the 1726 dictionary published by the Real Academia Española.
Diccionario de la Lengua Espanola by
Call Number: Terrell Reference PC 4625 A3 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Most up-to-date version available online at: