| Structure | Definition | Advantages/Disadvantages |
|---|---|---|
| Divide the literature into themes or categories | Distinct themes from the literature are discussed and analyzed | Popular approach because it allows for the integration of theoretical and research literature. Must be sure that themes are clearly related to the literature |
| Present the literature chronologically | Literature is divided into time periods | Useful when examining the development of a topic over time |
| Explore the theoretical and methodological literature | Discussion of theoretical literature followed by an exploration of methodological literature to demonstrate precedence for a particular research design | Useful when the literature on a topic is mostly theoretical with little or no research literature. Can be used to identify a need for more qualitative research |
| Examine the theoretical literature and research literature in two sections | A comprehensive discussion of both theoretical and research literature in two separate sections | May tend to be a description rather than a critical revew |
Cronin, P., Ryan, F., & Coughlan, M. (2008). Undertaking a literature review: A step-by-step approach. British Journal of Nursing, 17(1), 38-43. Retrieved from: https://bit.ly/2wLeCge.
For more information on these types of literature review structures, read:
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fourth Edition helps students and practitioners better understand scientific literature by instilling the essential skills (via the matrix method) needed to evaluate article findings critically. Covered at the most basic level are the fundamental principles of searching, organizing, reviewing, and synthesizing. Woven throughout the text are visual examples and a single case study This easy-to-read and practical reference is an invaluable aid to students, researchers, and practitioners.
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
Nursing Literature Reviews by
Literature reviews are undertaken by students, researchers, clinicians and educationalists - that is, almost all nurses. Despite much excellent work, exploring the assumptions and practices that constitute searching for and reviewing literature has merit, and prompting those who undertake these activities to think critically about what it is that they are doing should be encouraged. Widely adopted approaches to structuring reviews (the "standard model") can detrimentally limit the scope or range of literature that is accessed and appraised. It is further proposed that a lack of professional ambition or confidence invests aspects of the way some nurses engage with the sources that are available to them. Across the book, parochialism is challenged. The crucial roles that values and judgement play in reviews are highlighted. It is argued that humanities and arts texts deserve, potentially, a bigger or more assured place in reviews undertaken by nurses. Difficulties in appraising quantitative and qualitative research reports are identified, and benefits linked with taking a contemplative line through the review process are considered. This book contributes to debates around evidence-based practice and literature reviews more generally. It will appeal to anyone with an interest in professional issues, research, and the philosophy and sociology of nursing.
Medical Writing by
Effective communication is the ultimate, but often daunting, purpose of any medical research or review. This book provides the practical information necessary to turn first drafts into concise, unambiguous text, without loss of individuality. Written by a consultant anaesthetist and an experienced medical editor, and also illustrated by an accomplished medical editor, all of whom are sympathetic to the problems and needs of medical writers, this book deals with the basic craft of writing, from choosing the best word or phrase to essential grammar. This expanded fourth edition includes many more words better replaced, and deals explicitly with the problems of writers whose first language is not English. Whether you are writing a simple clinical report or a thesis, supervising others, running a course on medical or scientific writing, or just want to develop your skills in written communication, this book is the ideal guide and reference. Clear, simple and precise, and illustrated with apt cartoons, this is an invaluable handbook.
The Biomedical Writer by
Co-authored by a leading ophthalmology researcher and a professor with fifteen years of experience teaching writing in the biomedical sciences, The Biomedical Writer addresses ways to use psychology and neuroscience to equip researchers and clinicians with an understanding of how effects like priming, primacy, recency, framing, and apparent paradoxes can make or break your articles and grant proposals. The Biomedical Writer covers everything from making sentences readable, effective, and memorable to working with collaborators under unforgiving deadlines. Going far beyond the basic structure and content of manuscripts and proposals, this guide to writing in biomedicine also focuses on topics that include handling negative results and the most important and neglected step in submitting manuscripts to journals.
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus