Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HISTORY 111 : American History Since 1877

Home

History 111: American History Since 1877

Welcome to the guide for HIST 111: American History Since 1877! Here you will find links to library resources (and beyond) that will help you with research for the class.

If you need assistance finding sources or using the library, please contact me, Erin Hvizdak, at erin.hvizdak@wsu.edu. I'm a Humanities Librarian and work with students and faculty in numerous departments on campus.

Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper Collections

Newspapers databases can be an excellent place to search for a primary source that relates to your topic. An article that addresses your topic, published at the time of the event you are researching can be helpful. Historical newspaper articles can bring an event to life, providing a tangible snapshot of the past and illuminate the impact of an event. Consider this February 13th, 1952 article from the Seattle Times related to Seattle rotation troops serving in Asia:

1952 Seattle Times newspaper clipping about troops coming home from Asia

Census Information

Primary Sources - General Resources

Primary sources for family research might include:

Civil and Church Vital records (birth, marriage, death, baptismal documents)

Military Service Records

Secondary Sources

Article Databases for Historical Research

The databases listed below each has its own scope, and it is therefore advisable that your try searching more than one of the resources listed. There is some overlap in the journals that each indexes, but each of these databases also indexes unique titles that are not necessarily discoverable through other sources.

Digital Collections

Digital Collections

Libraries, universities, archives, museums, and organizations host a wide variety of digital collections. Below is a small selection of what is available online. Most of the materials found through these sites are considered primary sources, however some of these collections do include secondary sources as well, so be certain to evaluate the item if you choose it as a primary source for your research. To find other materials, try a Google search using language related to your topic, and include the phrase "digital collections". For example: polio and "digital collections."

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us