Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: while we try to keep our guides as up-to-date as possible, the most current information on WSU Pullman Library operations and Services can be found at the links below:
Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature in higher education.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
This education database provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines from 1966 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research )
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to over 5000 datasets, includes Census, Crime, Aging, Health Care, Politics, etc.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO)(H.W.Wilson)
Indexes articles, interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews in English language periodicals. Covers anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, and sociology. U41984 to the present;updated monthly.
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)
An index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present. Note: There are less than 146 records with publication dates prior to 1890. Updated weekly.
APA PsycArticles (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
A database containing abstracted citations to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work and other social sciences. Coverage from 1963-present.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.
How Do I... ?
How Do I...? Tutorials
Find answers to your questions through step-by-step instructions and tutorials about using the Library and doing research at WSU.
Tune Up Your Google Scholar to Tap into LIbraries' Resources!
The Libraries spends millions each year to bring resources to faculty and students. To gain access to WSU Libraries' content without physically cutting and pasting into the Libraries' SearchIt manually, type "Washington State University Libraries" in the located in the library links section of Google Scholar's settings and check all the WSU Libraries server entries. When this is done, all the content that the Libraries' provides will appear as links in Google Scholar that read WSU full text, Find It @ WSU, or the word, More, at the bottom of a citation. Try all of a citation's links to see which works best.
Click in the box to leave this guide and go to this page in Google Scholar!!
Worldcat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog
A database of library catalog records billed as the world's largest library catalog, WorldCat is a wonderful place to find publication information for obscure books and reports, archival materials, and very new books that haven't been purchased by a library in the Pacific Northwest Useful for interlibrary loans, for ordering, and sometimes just to know, Worldcat gives bibliographic information and lists the libraries in the world where a work might be housed.
Click in the image's box to leave this page and go to the WorldCat database.
I hope everyone finds these resources to be valuable in the exploration of this topic. I am available for classes and private research consultations. My contact information is below. Feel free to contact me for further assistance.