LibGuides: HISTORY 300: Imperialism and Colonialism: Journal and Newspaper Articles

Journal Article Databases for Historical Topics

These databases index scholarly/academic journals. You may also find dissertations, conference proceedings, book reviews, magazine articles, and books among your search results, but each of these databases allows you to limit your results to academic journals.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present.
America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Project Muse
Scholarly projects demand reliable content. Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

The Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Gale)
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th-century history and onward.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Seattle Times (1896-1984) (Readex)
This database provides full text coverage of the Seattle Times, a major Northwest newspaper, from 1896 to 1984. Currently contains material back to 1900, including articles and advertisements.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. Includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection

Additional Subject Databases

Your research might intersect with additional subject areas, such as philosophy, literature, politics, medicine, and religion. The databases below are specialized subject databases indexing resources in disciplines that might relate to your topic. After searching the standard subject databases for history (listed above) you might also try searching for your topic in a secondary relevant subject database.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides citations and abstracts for the literature of political science, international relations, government and public policy.
MLA International Bibliography (1926 - current)
Comprehensive coverage of modern languages and literature, including folklore. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and book history. Search Tips
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
The Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.

Libraries

HISTORY 300: Imperialism and Colonialism

Librarian

Journal Article Databases for Historical Topics

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Additional Subject Databases