Skip to main content

Com 400: Communicating Science & Technology

Online guide for Lucrezia Coen Paxson's Com 400 students.

Journal Article Access

WSU Everett students have access to the same online resources available to WSU Pullman students. This includes databases, eBooks, and online full-text journal articles.

There are different ways to search for academic journal articles:

The Find It Button

Some of the major article databases will provide a link to the full text of articles right in the citation record by giving you either a PDF or HTML link.

Other times, you will not see a full-text link to the article you want. In that case, you will need to look for the Find It button to locate electronic or print versions of your item, or perhaps order the item.

The Find It button usually looks like the image below, although there are a few databases where it may appear as a link or have different colors.

Find It button

If you are using Google Scholar, you will not see the Find It button, but you will often see a link that reads: "Find It at WSU Libraries."

If you cannot locate the full text of an article readily available on the page, the first step to accessing it is clicking on the "Find It" link.

Book and Media Access

Requesting Books and Media

WSU Everett students have access to the same eBooks and online media available to WSU Pullman students, but sometimes you may want a print book, DVD, or CD to work with.

delivery options menu

To request home delivery of a book you find in Search It, follow these steps:

  1. Make sure you're logged into Search It. This will allow you to see and use request options.
  2. Click on the request button. If the book you want is in the WSU Libraries, click on the red button that says "Request Item." If the book isn't available in the WSU Libraries, click on the red button that says "Request Summit Item (about 5 working days)."
  3. For pickup Location, use the “Everett Campus Delivery” option. 
  1. After selecting a pickup location, make sure to click on the last "Request" button to submit your request.

If a book you need is not available from a WSU library or any Summit library, you can request that it be borrowed from another library for your use via an Interlibrary Loan (ILL). To make an ILL request you need to be logged in to Search It - if a book is not available, you will see a link that says "Request through InterLibrary Loan -- Pullman." Clicking that link will take you to the WSU Pullman ILLiad site, where you need to log in with your WSU Network ID again. 

The first time you use ILLiad you need to create an account in the system. When filling out the "Personal Info" to create an Illiad account, Everett students should select  “electronic” for "Preferred Article Delivery Method" and “mail to address” for Preferred Loan Delivery Method.

Home Delivery, Return, & Renewal

When you request a book or piece of media, the WSU Libraries cover the cost of shipping the items to you and the costs of return postage. Make sure to keep the postage-paid address labels and USPS mailers that arrive with your requested items.

  • Be aware that once materials (books, etc.) you have requested are checked out and mailed to you, you are responsible for these materials. Any fines or fees for anything that happens to the material (damage, misdelivered, or lost items) are your responsibility. There are very rarely any problems with the delivery of items, especially if you maintain your current and correct address within the WSU Libraries system. You can check your address and make edits by logging into your Search It account and looking at "Personal Details."
  • Once you are done with the materials, repackage them in the box, affix the labels and stamps, and drop the box off at the post office.
  • Return books to:

Holland and Terrell Libraries, Access Services
PO Box 645610
Pullman, WA 99164-5610

Renewing Items you have Checked Out.

You may renew library materials checked out from a WSU library by accessing your circulation record. To Access Self Renewal:

  • Go to Search It.
  • Log in using your WSU Network ID and password (use the same Network ID credentials you use for My WSU).
  • Click on My Account (upper right). 
  • Click on the Loans link (left side) (you will likely be in the "loans" area by default).
  • Click on Renew All to renew all of your items, or select the items you want to renew and click Renew Selected.

Reasons Renewals May be Blocked

  • The maximum number of renewals setting for an item has been reached
  • If an "Overdue" or "Recalled" notice has been issued

Items that May Not be Renewed

  • MMR videos & selected reserve materials
  • Books from other libraries that have been requested through Summit
  • Some books from other libraries that have been requested through Illiad​

Your Librarians

Your librarians may be located on another campus, but they are glad to help you with your research!

For This Class

For this class and other communication projects, you can contact Erica Nicol, the librarian for communication at WSU Pullman. 

To Find Your Subject Librarian

If you are doing research in another field you can look up the librarian subject specialist who works with that field.

More Ways to Get Research Help

You can also use our Ask Us Services to connect with librarians through Chat, email, and phone, and to schedule appointments with librarians (yes, we can schedule virtual or phone appointments!)

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us