LibGuides: History: Journal Articles

History Article Databases

The first two databases, 'America: History & Life' and 'Historical Abstracts' are the major resources for modern history. Additional general and specialized databases in History are listed below.

America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Project Muse
Scholarly projects demand reliable content. Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

How to Find the Article

If the full text of the article is not available directly in a database such as America History & Life, click on the Find It @ WSU button to locate an electronic or print copy. Or you can use the catalog, Search It, look for the title of the journal to determine if WSU owns a copy.

The e-journals list is an A-Z directory of WSU Libraries' holdings in electronic journals.