Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating / Using Resources on this Page
Please check call numbers for all locations. Note that some of these titles are electronic resources.
Dictionaries A to G
Authoritative national dictionaries showing historical word usages; slang dictionaries of the English language; dictionaries of English synonyms, antonyms and euphemisms; and English-language thesauri.
Australian Oxford Dictionary by
Call Number: (Electronic resource)
Draws on the databases of Australian English at the Australian National Dictionary Centre. Older print edition in reference.
The Canadian Oxford Dictionary, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: PE3235 .C36x 2005 (Electronic resource)
Combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada. Definitions are presented so that the meaning most familiar to Canadians appears first and foremost. This new edition is completely up to date with 5,000 new words and senses. It features 2,200 uniquely Canadian words and senses, 350 usage notes, 7,000 idiomatic expressions, 5,500 biographical entries, and over 5,600 place names.
Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref PF3640 .C69 1998
Contains coverage of over 150,000 words and phrases, and 250,000 translations, with hundreds of new words in each language. New additions includeblogger,flash mob,ratetart, andweb spider. This new edition also includes a comprehensive correspondence guide with sample letters, emails, and CVs, a spread on text messaging in German, notes on life and culture in the German-speaking world, and in-text boxed notes on language usage and construction. The design has been transformed by the use of colour and a new presentation of the dictionary information, making this dictionary more accessible and easier than ever to use, and an essential tool for those who need an authoritative and concise guide to German and English.
Dictionary of American Regional English by
Call Number: Hol Ref PE2843 .D52 1985 (Electronic resource)
A multi-volume reference work that documents phrases, words, and pronunciations across the United States from the colonial period to the early twenty-first century. Source materials include novels and histories, newspapers, interviews, diaries, letters, government documents, biographical works, and the Internet. Includes an atlas of 1002 language communities surveyed for DARE. Print copy in reference.
Dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue française, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref PC2625 .R553x 1985
Includes all words accepted by the French Academy, covering scientific and technical terms, colloquialisms, and archaic words from classical French literature. Quotations from contemporary French writers demonstrate evolution in the use of words and draw on modern-day examples to clarify usage.
Grande dizionario della lingua italiana by
Call Number: Hol Ref PC1625. B3
The standard dictionary of the Italian language compiled between 1961 and 2002 consisting of 22 volumes, including supplements and an index. Offers usage citations, including all possible meanings of a word listed in chronological order of their usage.
Dictionaries G to Z
Green's Dictionary of Slang by
Call Number: Hol Ref PE3721 .G677 2010
Previously known as Chamber's Slang Dictionary, this lexicon covers slang from the past five centuries right up to the present day, from all the different English-speaking countries and regions. Totaling 10.3 million words and over 53,000 entries, the collection provides the definitions of 100,000 words and over 413,000 citations. Every word and phrase is authenticated by genuine and fully-referenced citations of its use, giving the work a level of authority and scholarship unmatched by any other publication in this field.
Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary by
Call Number: Hol Ref PE1591 .H55 2009
The Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is unique - the largest thesaurus in the world and the first historical thesaurus to be created in any language. Based on the OED, it contains almost every word in English from Old English to the present. There are three major sections: I. The external world; II. The mental world; and III. The social world. Within these sections are 236,400 categories and subcategories containing some 797,600 meanings.
How Not to Say What You Mean: A Dictionary of Euphemisms by
Call Number: Hol Ref PE1449 .H548 2002
Offers an engaging volume that celebrates the human tendency to use mild, vague, or roundabout expressions rather than those which are blunt, precise, and true. Arranged in alphabetical order, this dictionary contains thousands of entertaining and informative entries ranging from such circumlocutions as a "fruit salad" (mixture of illegal narcotics), "arm candy" (a good-looking female companion), a "barrel-house" (a brothel), "birthday suit" (nakedness), and a "blue hair" (an old women). Completely updated, the dictionary provides definitions, examples, as well as historical explanations where appropriate.
The Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English by
Call Number: PE1591 .O89 1999
This thesaurus is based on state-of-the-art research using a vast database of some 200 million words, conducted by Oxford's U.S. dictionary staff. It has more than 15,000 main entries keyed to over 350,000 synonyms, with accompanying example sentences and phrases. Key entries are also supplemented by antonym lists, which include cross references to other main entries. A special feature is the synonym studies, which delineate subtle nuances of meaning among a group of closely related synonyms. With clear, expert advice on grammar, usage, and pronunciation, this up-to-date thesaurus is the first place to look when you want just the right word.
Oxford English Dictionary by
Call Number: PE1625 .O87 (Electronic resource)
Provides etymologies and examples of usage for English words. Especially useful for determining what possible meanings an author may have intended in a given work written at a given time. The online OED is updated on a quarterly basis. The OED is the premier historical dictionary of the English language.
The Oxford Paperback Thesaurus by
Call Number: PE1591 .O94 2006 (Electronic resource)
This up-to-date, general purpose thesaurus offers over 300,000 alternative and opposite words. Synonyms are given in order of usefulness, showing the most relevant synonym first. Following market research, the third edition now includes even more, highly illustrative, real examples of usage to show synonyms in context and help you to identify the right sense. In addition, there is a brand-new centre section containing thematic and encyclopedic lists, for example of animals, games, and tools, designed to help you broaden your vocabulary, and improve your general knowledge. Provides useful information for all kinds of writing needs: study, letters, reports, creative writing, and for general reference.
Oxford Russian Dictionary, 4th ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref PG2640 .W5 2007
Contains many enhancements including new supplementary material with a correspondence section, grammar help, and extra sections on the pronunciation of Russian and English. The text has also been updated with hundreds of new words - in both the English and Russian sides of the dictionary - especially important given changes in language and culture over the last few years. The dictionary is also more accessible for Russian speakers, with the addition of contextualizations on the Russian-English side to help users select the most appropriate translation. There is an extensive guide to English grammar, written in Russian, and the Russian native speaker who wishes to use or understand American English is well catered for.