Skip to main content

Music: Internet Sites

The British Academy of Sound Therapy

The BAST method of sound therapy combines carefully considered therapeutic sound techniques which have been shown to affect physiology, neurology and psychology with a form of reflective enquiry (a kind of questioning). This approach has been shown to be very effective at improving health and wellbeing.

AMS - Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology

Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog - Foreign Dissertations

Includes over 800,000 doctoral dissertations from universities outside the U.S. and Canada. CRL obtained the majority of the collection through deposit from member libraries, but continues to acquire about 5,000 titles per year from major universities abroad through purchase and deposit agreements.

Recorded Sound Research Center - Library of Congress

The Recorded Sound Research Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress. The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings. In the custody of the Motion Picture Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division since 1978, the collection has grown to include over 2 million items encompassing audio formats from cylinders to CDs. The holdings complement the field recordings of the American Folklife Center and the moving image collections.

National Recording Preservation Board - Library of Congress

The National Recording Preservation Board, mandated by the National Recording Preservation Act of 2000, is an advisory group bringing together a number of professional organizations and expert individuals concerned with the preservation of recorded sound.

Arts & Letters Daily

Aggregates news stories, features, commentary, and reviews across the arts and humanities.  Founded by Denis Dutton.

The Petrucci Music Library

Public domain music resources from the International Music Score Library Project.

University of London - Golden Pages for Musicologists

The Golden Pages provide announcements for forthcoming conferences in musicology and related disciplines, an archive of dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other links of interest to musicologists.

Music & Literature

Music & Literature is a nonprofit organization devoted to publishing and promoting the work of underrepresented artist from around the world.

Performing Arts at Library of Congress

Europeana Collections

Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.

UNESCO Memory of the World Project

The Open Syllabus Project

The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) collects and analyzes millions of syllabi to support educational research and novel teaching and learning applications.  The OSP helps instructors develop classes, libraries manage collections, and presses develop books.

Google Scholar and Google Scholar Citations

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Google Scholar Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics.

Culturomics

Provides access to billions of words via the Google book data digitization project and software developed by scholars. For more information, see the entry for "Trending Terms, Digital Books & Historical Data Crunching" on the Audio Archives page of the English and American literature library guide.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America is a comprehensive discovery tool for public domain and openly licensed content held by archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in the United States.  The DPLA is dynamic cultural resource offering millions of items in the form of books, images, historical records, and audiovisual material.

Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress)

The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site.

Cultural Encyclopedia

The Cultural Encyclopedia is a large-scale documentation and archive project whose primary goal is to facilitate the re/ordering of knowledge, narratives, and representations from and about the African continent.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us