It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Coverage from 1908 to the present includes more than 570,000 article citations from 1,677 journals (546 currently indexed), more than 237,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, more than 525,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided via ATLASerials for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews from 150 journals selected by leading religious scholars.
History, Literature, and Sociology
It is helpful to look in databases focusing on a broader range of the humanities and social sciences disciplines. Below are just a few.
Contains citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present.
Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serial publications. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Updated 6 times a year.
Comprehensive coverage of modern languages and literature, including folklore. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and book history.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Bibliography of scholarly works in journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies and book reviews (1960s- ). Indexes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. Restricted to WSU-Pullman.
Citations for U.S. (and some Canadian) dissertations 1861- present. Includes abstracts for dissertations published from 1980-present (some recent dissertations offer a 24-page preview). Also includes citations and abstracts for (some) master's theses from 1988-present.
An open access database that incorporates EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations along with additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. The database provides researchers with citations to graduate research from the early 20th century to the present. Formerly called American Doctoral Dissertations.
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Includes over 800,000 doctoral dissertations from universities outside the U.S. and Canada. CRL obtained the majority of the collection through deposit from member libraries, but continues to acquire about 5,000 titles per year from major universities abroad through purchase and deposit agreements.
Provides detailed descriptions of numerous archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. With its online archival collection descriptions, ArchiveGrid helps you to locate collections of primary source material more quickly than ever before. Records include collection title, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description.