With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives of American Art is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.

A compilation of high-resolution images of artworks from museums and galleries around the world, including virtual tours of the settings in which they are housed.  Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces. 

The Google Street Art Project database is international in scope and offers online collections and exhibitions about the history, locations, and artists of street art.

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

The Cultural Encyclopedia is a large-scale documentation and archive project whose primary goal is to facilitate the re/ordering of knowledge, narratives, and representations from and about the African continent.

The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) collects and analyzes millions of syllabi to support educational research and novel teaching and learning applications.  The OSP helps instructors develop classes, libraries manage collections, and presses develop books.

Creative innovators whose works resist categorization, the visual artists in the Art in the Twenty-First Century documentary series represent a striking variety of backgrounds and philosophies. Viewed individually, each offers a unique perspective on what it means to be an artist. Taken as a whole, their work is testament to the astonishing richness and scope of artistic production in the world today.

The ALR is the world’s largest private database of lost and stolen art, antiques, and collectibles. Its range of services includes item registration, and search and recovery services for collectors, the art trade, insurers, and worldwide law enforcement agencies.

Also see The Palgrave Handbook on Art Crime (2019),  This WSU-restricted eBook can be accessed on the Reference eBooks page of this guide or through the library catalog (ISBN 1137544058). 

Race, politics, sex, gender, religion, violence, or simply the unfamiliar?  Here are some samples of works that have crossed a boundary of what was acceptable in their time.

Aggregates news stories, features, commentary, and reviews across the arts and humanities.  Founded by Denis Dutton.

The Museum of Modern Art’s exhibition history—from its founding in 1929 to the present—is available online. The digital archive includes exhibition catalogues, primary documents, installation views, and an index of participating artists.

PHAROS is an international consortium of fourteen European and North American art historical photo archives committed to creating a digital research platform allowing for comprehensive consolidated access to photo archive images and their associated scholarly documentation.  The PHAROS collections collectively contain an estimated 31 million images documenting works of art and architecture and the history of photography itself.

The Baffler, est. 1988, is a printed and digital magazine of art and criticism appearing three times annually—spring, summer, and fall.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Google Scholar Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics.

Provides access to billions of words via the Google book data digitization project and software developed by scholars. For more information, see the entry for "Trending Terms, Digital Books & Historical Data Crunching" on the Audio Archives page of the English and American literature library guide.

The Digital Public Library of America is a comprehensive discovery tool for public domain and openly licensed content held by archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in the United States.  The DPLA is dynamic cultural resource offering millions of items in the form of books, images, historical records, and audiovisual material.

Includes over 800,000 doctoral dissertations from universities outside the U.S. and Canada. CRL obtained the majority of the collection through deposit from member libraries, but continues to acquire about 5,000 titles per year from major universities abroad through purchase and deposit agreements.