LibGuides: History: United States: Newspapers

The News

Pressing On; Two Family-Owned Newspapers in the 21st Century. John C. Hughes. Olympia, Wash. : Washington State Legacy Project, Office of the Secretary of State. 2015. Holland & Terrell Libraries Z473 .H85 2015

Finding Newspaper Resources

Newspapers are a rich primary source for history research. For more newspaper resources see the Newspaper and News LibGuide.

Global Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Date coverage varies.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires, and other sources, including Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, and regional newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Seattle Times (1896-1984) (Readex)
Full text coverage of the Seattle Times, 1895-1984.
Ethnic Newswatch
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Articles date from 1960 to the present.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full text legal and abstracted information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full-text access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers published throughout the United States between 1800 and 1900, including territorial newspapers.
Chronicling America
America's historic newspaper pages from all states, 1836-1922

* Pre- and Post-Revolutionary War Pennsylvania Newspapers. 1775-1797. Microfilm, 12 reels. Thomson-Gale. Holland/Terrell Libraries Microfilm AN2.P4 P74 Collection of Pennsylvania newspapers from the United States' revolutionary war era.

* Virginia Gazette from 1736 to 1780 Digitized issues of the Virginia Gazette September 10, 1736-December 9, 1780. Browse by year, issue, or an index of topics.