Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archival and Digital Collections
Glasnost Collection - National Library of Finland
The Glasnost Collection of the Slavonic Library contains 944 titles of periodicals and newspapers, flyers and bulletins published by unofficial movements and cooperatives.
Yudin Collection at the Library of Congress
The acquisition of the Yudin Collection in 1906 provided access to complete runs of literary, historic, artistic, and popular culture journals published between the 18th century and 1906. This link provides access to sample digitized images of materials from this collection.
Hoover Institution Digital Collections
Digitized posters, photographs, manuscripts, moving images, sound recordings, and other historical materials organized thematically.
The Russian Empire and Soviet Union: A Guide to Manuscripts and Archival Materials in the United States
A finding tool describing archival holdings in the US by state, hosted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Archives of Russia Search Portal
Useful for identifying which archive has holdings for the physical archival collection you seek.
Duplication Services at the Russian State Library
Offers a searching platform for materials that may be available through the library services for foreign users department of the Russian State Library.
National Library Catalogs and Collections
The Slavonic Library - National Library of Finland
"The Legal Deposit Collection that was accrued in 1828–1917 includes deposit copies of printed matters in all subjects published within the borders of the Russian Empire. From the Soviet period, the collection contains literature mainly from the fields of humanities and social sciences from the Soviet Union and other countries within the Slavic language area. The collection also includes emigrant literature."
Russian Newspapers at the Library of Congress
Newspaper collections at the Library of Congress include over 1,800 titles, with many materials (over 12,000 reels) available on microfilm and available through Inter Library Loan. This collection includes strong central Russian and St. Petersburg titles, with some regional coverage. On-site access includes the East View's Moscow News Digital Archive.
Biographical Russian Dictionary
An online publication of the National Library of Russia.
Geared for the business traveler, Kwintessential offers information on Russian etiquette, society, and customs.
Alexander Palace Time Machine
A well-developed site with links to images, articles and online books that focus on the Romanov family.
Far From Moscow
"“Far from Moscow” is a resource designed to promote, catalog, and consider new music from Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus, together with the Baltic nations (Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia). In total, that’s ten time zones!"
Adventures in the Soviet Imaginary: Children's Books and Graphic Art
A virtual exhibit by the Special Collections Research Center, University of Chicago Library.
News and Information
Keep up with Russian news while improving your language skills!
Subjects:Accounting, Taxation & Finance
, Asian Studies
, Economic Sciences
, Ethnic Studies
, Film Studies
, Foreign Languages & Literatures
, Hospitality Business Management