This reference work focuses on the impact of African culture on American history and society. Included are maps, photos, and charts as well as statistical information on African Americans in the United States.

An extensive work providing essays on culture, historical eras, legal cases, cultural achievements, sports and biography. Entries range from a half a page to one page in length and many are followed by extensive bibliographies to inform further research.

Includes substantial biographical entries, as well as entries on the events, activities and issues that shaped early African American history.

Provides concise essays on African American culture and society, focusing on significant events, social issues, institutions, ideas and activities. Many entries include a bibliography for further research.

An excellent resource to the field of Black Studies, covering themes, institutions, key-issues, programs, movements, organizations, literature and philosophers. Topics range from Hip-hop to Graffiti Art, and from Rastafarianism to the Yoruba Tradition.

Compiled by experts in the field, this guide includes extensive bibliographies for research into every aspect of African American life and work.

With contributions by 184 scholars from both Europe and the United States, this work provides a history of associations established by African American leaders. 576 entries examine the influence of black organizations on American politics and society.

An excellent resource that focuses on the movement of the Southern African Americans to the urban North and Far West over the course of the 20th century. Examines key people, places, organizations and events that defined the era of migration, as well as its impact on the African American community. Volume 3 also contains 76 excellent primary sources pertaining to key events between 1905 and 1961.

Includes information on individuals, organizations, books, events, concepts and court case arranged alphabetically. Each entry followed by bibliographical references for further research. Volume 2 also contains primary documents related to the Civil Rights Era.

Includes invaluable statistical information on population, living arrangements, the labor force, housing, income, health, education, wealth, population, spending and time use.

A war by war account of the role of African Americans in the military, from the American Revolution to the Vietnam War. Includes biographical information and images of both lesser and well known African American military personnel.

Contains more than 300 biographical entries encompassing women in athletics, politics, higher education, the arts, business, leadership, the military, and the professions.

Articles offering a survey of critical thought on topics related to rap and hip hop culture.

Provides brief alphabetical entries accompanied by bibliographies for further reading.

Described as “the largest act of biographical and historical recovery in the history of African American Studies”. Contains over 4,000 entries written by over 1700 contributors. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, the Director of the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research, and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham.

Dr. Clayborne Carson, the editor of Martin Luther King Jr.’s personal papers, and the staff of Stanford University’s Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute collaborated to produce this work. Many entries rely heavily on information extracted from King’s personal papers, making this encyclopedia a unique resource for King scholarship.

Includes entries on B-boy crews, DJays, MCs, as well as coverage of hip-hop themed films. Many entries are biographical in nature and include both Old Skool and contemporary artists. Artist entries include discographies.