There are numerous digital primary source collections available for free online, that do not require a WSU login. These are digitized items found in reputable research centers, archives, museums, and other organizations. You can find free primary sources on nearly any historical topic.

One way to do this is to simply Google your topic with "primary sources" OR "digital collections."

There are too many to list here, but there are several ways to discover relevant collections. The first is to use a search engine that searches across archives, such as ArchiveGrid. This is best if you can search for a particular person, organization, or event, and it will tell you where a collection is located. This will show you both digitized and non-digitized archival collections:

Most countries have a large national archives that preserves that country's history. However, for countries formerly subject to colonization, a country's records might also be found in the archives of the imperial power (e.g. archives of India will also be found in the British National Archives). You can find these by Googling the country and "national archives," and again, make sure to also search in the archives of the country that colonized it, if applicable. Here are a couple of examples:

You may also find specialized collections at universities and other research centers that focus on one topic area. This allows that institution to really center their collecting in this area, to make it as comprehensive and useful as possible. Sometimes these are digitized and openly accessible. One way to find these is to Google your topic, and add keywords such as "primary sources" or "digital collections" or "digital archive."