LibGuides: Finding Primary Sources: U.S. Government Documents

Government Documents as Primary Sources

Government publications provide documentation on legal, judicial, and regulatory activities and can provide useful current and historical primary source materials. This page points to databases and digital collections that provide government information such as statistics, bills and laws, congressional and agency reports, court cases and decisions, hearings, maps, and consumer information. Local, state, regional, federal, or international government information may inform your research.

For more information on locating government documents at WSU and beyond, see these library guides:

Government Documents and Data: Library Guides at WSU

Selected Federal Databases

Websites:

Govinfo
Free public access to digital documents of the federal executive, legislative, and judicial branches. This is (usually but not always) the best place to start your research.
Congress.gov
USA.gov
The official U.S. gateway to all government information.
U.S. Census
Census and survey data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
100 Milestone Documents
Selected documents that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.

Databases:

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013 - current) is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Note: ProQuest took this over after the Census Bureau stopped producing it.
U.S. Serial Set 1817-1994 (Readex)
All the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. A rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history.
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides access to publications by and about the U.S. Congress, including hearings, bill texts, legislative histories, voting records, congressional calendars, hot topics and more. Updated daily and contains some full text

Selected U.S. Government Information Sources

State & County Quick Facts
From the U.S. Census Bureau.
Intergovernmental Search (Google)
Searches hundreds of intergovernmental organization web pages.
Non-Governmental Search (Google)
Internet search of association, council, and institute web pages.
Pew Center on the States: Data Visualizations
Compare states on topics and issues.
Maps and GIS Resources State by State
State government map and data resources.
State Agency Databases
Agency information for all 50 states.

Libraries

Finding Primary Sources

Government Documents as Primary Sources

Selected Federal Databases

Selected U.S. Government Information Sources