Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G80 .H69 2009
A chronological tour of the history of exploration in the style of The Map Book, by the world's leading expert.
The Book of Exploration elegantly presents more than 150 of the most influential and unusual journeys of discovery, setting each firmly in its historical context.
Encyclopedia of Exploration by Carl Waldman; Alan Wexler
A biographical dictionary covering explorers throughout the ages. Encyclopedia of Exploration is a two-volume reference to the history of human exploration over land, across seas, and into space.
Geographic Information by Jenny M. Johnson
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G116 .J65 2003
This book provides an accessible overview of the important, emerging field of Geographic Information Systems (GIS), computer systems capable of assembling, storing, manipulating, and displaying geographically referenced information. Also included is information on geographical standards, organizations, instructional resources, commercial publications, and careers in geography.
Encyclopedia of Geographical Features in World History by James R. Penn
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G141 .P43 1997
Mountain ranges, islands, plateaus, basins, land gateways, waterways, straits, seas, and many other important geological formations and geographical features for North America, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, South America, and Europe, including Russia as far east as the Ural Mountains, the traditional boundary with Asia.
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World by Saul B. Cohen (Editor)
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G103.5 .C645 1998 v. 1-3
The Columbia Lippincott Gazetteer continues to serve as the standard source of information about the geography of the world.
Encyclopedia of Geography by Barney L. Warf (Editor)
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G63 .E554 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
The six volumes of this encyclopedia encapsulate a diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century.
Historical Atlas of Washington and Oregon by Derek Hayes
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference F891 .H39 2011
A visually rich and textually engaging history of the states of Oregon and Washington. At once a valuable reference and an exhilarating adventure through history, readers are presented with a fascinating chronicle of how these proud states came into their own and how they each look toward the future.
The Atlas of Climate Change by Kirstin Dow; Taylor Downing
Call Number: WSU Owen QC903 D68 2011
The atlas covers a wide range of topics, including warning signs, vulnerable populations, health impacts, renewable energy, emissions reduction, personal and public action. The third edition includes new or additional coverage of a number of topics, including agreements reached in Copenhagen and Cancun, ocean warming and increased acidity, the economic impact of climate change, and advantages gained by communities and business from adapting to climate change.
Atlas of Oceans by John Farndon; Carl Safina (Foreword by)
Call Number: WSU Owen G2800 .F37 2011
Looks at the oceans and seas around the world, describing the creatures found in them, threats they face, and recommendations on ways to preserve the ocean ecosystem.
National Geographic Visual Atlas of the World by National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference-Atlas G1021 .N3 2009
State-of-the-art cartography meets world-class photography in this innovative new atlas--inviting readers on a magnificent visual tour of Earth's greatest natural and cultural wonders.
Cartographica Extraordinaire by David Rumsey; Edith M. Punt
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference-Atlas GA197.R86 R86 2004
Assembling some of the finest cartographic examples from private collection of renowned map collector David Rumsey, this atlas bridges the gap between historical cartography and exploration and the new technologies and applications of geographic information systems (GIS).
Historical Atlas of Exploration by Angus Konstam
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G95 .K66 2000
Historical Atlas of Exploration contains a selection of contemporary illustrations and 70 detailed full-color maps that follow each explorer on his travels.
Atlas of World Development by Tim Unwin (Editor)
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G1046.E1 U5 1994
The Atlas of World Development is a collaborative project by leading researchers and scholars of the Developing Areas Research Group of the Institute of British Geographers and presents an original, stimulating and occasionally controversial graphic interpretation of the concepts and processes of 'world development'.
The Atlas of Westward Expansion by Alan Wexler; Molly Braun (Illustrator); Carl Waldman (Editor)
Call Number: WSU Holland & Terrell Reference G1201.S1 W44 1995
The Atlas of Westward Expansion traces the entire history of U.S. territorial expansion. Coverage includes the Louisiana Purchase of 1803, the California Gold Rush (1848-1852), the ancestral homelands of the Plains Indian tribes, and the Pacific Railroad surveys (1853-1855).