Freely available
Alternative Presses, 1960's - 1980s
Series: Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT [sic]Latino, Little Magazine, Native American, Right Wing
"Independent Voices represents the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of more than 1,000 titles and 750,000 pages. The collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries."

(Current issues at http://www.sgn.org/)
More information via this press release from the Washington State Library.
"The SGN was first published in 1974 as the Gay Community Center News, a newsletter by Jim Tully and Jim Arnold, for the Gay Community Center in Seattle. George Bakan, an LGBTQ rights advocate, joined the paper as editor in the mid-80s, co-owned as publisher with Jim Arnold in 1993, and became sole publisher in the early 2000s. The newspaper includes coverage of historic events affecting Washington’s LGBTQ community, including the AIDS crisis in the 1980s and state establishment of marriage equality, from legislation to the passage of Referendum 74 in 2012. After Bakan’s death in 2020, his daughter Angela Cragin continues to publish the paper in print and online."

"An independent, nonprofit news enterprise.
Mission
IndiJ Public Media honors our ancestors and future generations through stories that make Indigenous peoples come alive.
ICT is an independent, nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. We reach audiences through our digital platform and as a broadcast carried via public television stations.
ICT covers Indigenous peoples."

"Chronicling America has grown its collection of newspapers by and for Native American communities under the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) over the past decade through the contributions of state partners. It is important to read these newspapers to better understand Native American perspectives. When discussing the same issues, mainstream newspaper titles generally present them from the perspective of the white editors or the U.S. government. Similarly, newspapers written by missionaries or government agencies will have a different perspective on Native issues. For example, the Cherokee Phoenix and Cherokee Phoenix, and Indians’ Advocate wrote a very different perspective from mainstream newspapers in the 1820s and 1830s during the period when the U.S. government was removing the Cherokee from their historic tribal lands."

"For Black Quotidian, I chose to focus on African-American newspapers because I wanted to focus on the lives, and not only the deaths, of black people.... Taking the ordinary aspects of African-American history seriously means recognizing the richness and diversity of black culture and history. By emphasizing that black history can be mundane, not only triumphant or tragic, Black Quotidian offers a thematically diverse foundation from which to research and teach African-American history."

Freely available
"This Open Access collection of newspapers produced by people who have been incarcerated will help readers learn about the prison experience through the voices of those who have lived it. The American Prison Newspapers collection was made openly available on July 1, 2021, with additional newspapers released regularly to the collection as they are digitized."