Provides full-text access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers published throughout the United States between 1800 and 1900, including territorial newspapers.

Also available on microfilm 1857-2008 at AN33.N4 N49x.

1785 - current (separate databases). Note: this does NOT include the Sunday Times. The WSU Libraries has the Times on microfilm from 1785-2008 at AN411.42 .D35x.
The Sunday Times is available in microfilm from 1976-2008 at AN411.42 .S86x.

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, native, and minority press in America.

Fulltext of more than 300 US and international news sources, including the Boston Globe, the Wall Street Journal, and the Times of London.

A database of over 800 fulltext newspapers and newswires, including the Christian Science Monitor and the Los Angeles Times and regional and international papers. To search a particular newspaper, click on the Publications link in the upper left screen, or limit to Source in the drop-down menu.

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."

via the Library of Congress' Chronicling America project (see middle box)

Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996; Corvallis Gazette Times, 1988 - 1999; Daily Astorian, 1998-1990; Eugene Register-Guard, 1988 - 2002; Klamath Falls Herald & News, 1996; LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 2004; Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 2004; Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992; Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002; Tigard Times, 1996 - 2003; West Linn Tidings, 1998 - 2004; Willamette Week, 1974 - 1997; Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995-2004

Welcome to the Catholic News Archive! Our site has thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years... and the collection is growing! Our collection is fully text searchable so do a search on anything that interests you and see it in the context of the newspapers' editorials, pictures, and advertisements."

"Famous for its social movements—against the Vietnam War, in defense of the planet, demanding Black civil rights, gay liberation, and women’s equality—the 1960s and 1970s were also a fertile time for the underground press in the United States. Reveal Digital’s Campus Underground collection on JSTOR includes more than seventy-five publications, many from college campuses or college towns (often produced by a loose cluster of students and other college-aged young people). The open access digital archive provides an exhilarating glimpse into this creative and politically incendiary period." An article in JSTOR Daily about the collection

New York State Historical Photos & Newspapers 1795 Thru 2007. This searchable database is a project/labor of love of one person, Tom Tryniski. See the FAQ_HELP_INDEX link for more information.

Freely available
"This Open Access collection of newspapers produced by people who have been incarcerated will help readers learn about the prison experience through the voices of those who have lived it. The American Prison Newspapers collection was made openly available on July 1, 2021, with additional newspapers released regularly to the collection as they are digitized."

Freely available
Alternative Presses, 1960's - 1980s
Series: Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT [sic]Latino, Little Magazine, Native American, Right Wing
"Independent Voices represents the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of more than 1,000 titles and 750,000 pages. The collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries."

These are complete issue page scans, but are not continuous or comprehensive - but you may strike gold for certain periods and places.

See news as it was happening (and as it was perceived) in the emergent West...
More recent Seattle Times articles can be found online via the SeattleTimes website OR on microfilm (1896 (some earlier) -current) at AN48 S4 D36x. Current and previous month print issues are available in the Current Journal Room, Terrell Library.

This page links to the search page, allowing fulltext searching of digitized (and no longer under copyright) issues of historic newspapers from all over the country (including the Pullman Herald) covering 1836-1922. There is also a newspaper directory (1690-current). Links on the left side of the page provide additional information. Here's a nice blog post about it (from a geneaologist), with a few search tips.
Find their digitized African American newspapers

Helpful context!
"Robin Pike, Head, Digital Collection Services Section in the Serial and Government Publications Division, conducted the following interviews with Mary Feeney (University of Arizona Libraries) in Tucson, AZ, Korina Tueller (Arizona State Library, Archives, and Public Records) in Phoenix, AZ, and Anne Levin (Minnesota Historical Society) in St. Paul, MN."
Updated Version 1//5/2023

"...a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. "

Selective coverage of U.S. news from 1700-2004.

This is a collection of microfilmed underground press newspapers from the 1960s-1970s. A guide to this set (with newspaper title and reel number) is available online here via the University of Oregon. Specific titles can be found here.

"...documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."

Note:
"More than 50 titles spanning the years 1805–1922 across 11 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean... The material features early issues of notable titles such as La Prensa (Buenos Aires, Argentina), Jornal do Commercio (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), Mercurio (Santiago, Chile), Siglo Diez y Nueve (Mexico City, Mexico), and Star & Herald (Panama City). The content, available as image-only files browseable by date and issue, are openly accessible "

"For Black Quotidian, I chose to focus on African-American newspapers because I wanted to focus on the lives, and not only the deaths, of black people.... Taking the ordinary aspects of African-American history seriously means recognizing the richness and diversity of black culture and history. By emphasizing that black history can be mundane, not only triumphant or tragic, Black Quotidian offers a thematically diverse foundation from which to research and teach African-American history."

No coverage after 1922. Image-only files, browsable by date and issue. See filtering options on the left to narrow.

"Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America. The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. These titles document a time of transition in American agriculture, politics, family life, and technology"

"The [Washington] State Library offers a variety of newspapers online from Washington’s territorial period (1853-1889) with a searchable index." From the Washington State Library - digitized from microfilm, so the quality is not amazing, but great content!
See also the Library of Congress's Chronicling American Project.

"On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP)"

1864-1922

List of newspaper archives by country. Some are free, some are fee-based/behind a paywall.

Many of these are subscription-based and not accessible by WSU people (the ones with the little dollar sign icons) but there are lots of free digitized newspapers as well.)

Australian newspapers (1803-1954)