LibGuides: Design: Search for Information

General Hints

The Libraries maintains an integrated library system, Search It, to access and organize the many items (books, journal articles, reports, media, etc.). Click in the box to leave this guide and use the Search It system!

Additionally, Search It provides access to items provided through Google Scholar, if WSU-affiliated library users upload the WSU Libraries website into the "library links" area of Google Scholar's settings (see the Google Scholar box below). The Libraries also provides access to approximately 150 specialized subject databases through its website's Find Articles/Databases section. The databases generally of interest to this discipline are detailed in the box below.

Key Databases

Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature of such design subjects as architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, and construction design.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. In addition, this database also provides nearly 13,000 citation records for architects' obituaries.
ARTBibliographies Modern (Proquest)
Provides references and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Subjects cover all forms art Entries date back as far as the late 1960s
Art Index (EBSCO) (H.W. Wilson)
Offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Indexes several film journals, such as "Sight and Sound," the "American Cinematographer," "Film Comment," and "Film Quarterly." Works best with Internet Explorer
Art Index Retrospective : 1929-1984 (EBSCO)(H.W. Wilson)(XML)
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. Features coverage of English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
International Bibliography of Art (Proquest)
International Bibliography of Art provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, architecture, material culture, and global art since 1945 in a variety of media and formats
JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.

Tune Up Your Google Scholar to Tap into Libraries' Resources!

The Libraries spends millions each year to bring resources to faculty and students. To gain access to WSU Libraries' content without physically cutting and pasting into the Libraries' Search It manually, type "Washington State University Libraries" in the located in the library links section of Google Scholar's settings and check all the WSU Libraries server entries. When this is done, all the content that the Libraries' provides will appear as links in Google Scholar that read WSU full text, Find It @ WSU, or the word, More, at the bottom of a citation. Try all of a citation's links to see which works best.

Click in the box to leave this guide and go to this page in Google Scholar!!

Worldcat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog

A database of library catalog records billed as the world's largest library catalog, WorldCat is a wonderful place to find publication information for obscure books and reports, archival materials, and very new books that haven't been purchased by a library in the Pacific Northwest Useful for interlibrary loans, for ordering, and sometimes just to know, WorldCat gives bibliographic information and lists the libraries in the world where a work might be housed.

Click in the image's box to leave this page and go to the WorldCat database.

Guides to Doing Research in Architecture

Groat, L. N., & Wang, D. (2013). Architectural research methods. New York: J. Wiley. (eBook)

Groat, L. N., & Wang, D. (2002). Architectural research methods. New York: J. Wiley. (print) Owen Science Library Reference Call number: NA2000 .G76 2002

Augustin, S., & Coleman, C. (2011). The designer's guide to doing research: Applying knowledge to inform design. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley & Sons. (eBook)

Augustin, S., & Coleman, C. (2012). The designer's guide to doing research: Applying knowledge to inform design. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons. (print) Holland and Terrell Libraries Stacks Call number: NA2750 .A94 2012