Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: while we try to keep our guides as up-to-date as possible, the most current information on WSU Pullman Library operations and Services can be found at the links below:
Some major sources of electronic journals for Astronomy are: Astronomical Societies
Indexes, Abstracts and other databases.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library.
Dissertations & Theses
(coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased.
Open Access pre-print service for earth sciences.
Open Access pre-print server on the subject of earth and space science.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
The ADS maintains three databases of scholarly literature in the fields of physics and astronomy. Many of the articles are full text and users can access the abstract, citations, references, and similar articles.
Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
The Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics, in publication since 1963, covers the significant developments in the field of astronomy and astrophysics, including: the sun; solar system and extrasolar planets; stars; the interstellar medium; galaxy and galaxies; active galactic nuclei; cosmology; and instrumentation and techniques, and the history of the development of new areas of research.
Astrobiology is the most-cited peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the understanding of life's origin, evolution, and distribution in the universe, with a focus on new findings and discoveries from interplanetary exploration and laboratory research.
Icarus is devoted to the publication of original contributions in the field of Solar System studies.
International Journal of Astrobiology
International Journal of Astrobiology is the peer-reviewed forum for practitioners in this exciting interdisciplinary field.
Science, Engineering, & Mathematics Librarian