LibGuides: Asian American Studies: Home

Asian American Studies

Search It is the WSU Libraries discovery system for books, articles, multimedia resources, article databases and more.

For links to specific content, such as reference collections, article databases, and websites related to Asian American Studies, please click on the appropriate tab at the left of the page.

More information on Asian American Studies at Washington State University is available through the School of Languages, Cultures, and Race.

For research assistance related to Asian American Studies, please contact Erin Hvizdak (erin.hvizdak@wsu.edu).

Historical Newspapers Collections

Seattle Times (1896-1984) (Readex)
This database provides full text coverage of the Seattle Times, a major Northwest newspaper, from 1896 to 1984.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Helpful Links

Article Databases for Asian American Studies

Also available off-campus to WSU students, faculty, and staff. The links below will take you to the Search It record for these resources. Use your network ID and password for access:

Academic Search Complete
Provides access to a variety of journals, including "Asian Ethnicity," "South-Asian Popular Culture," "American Asian Review," "Inter-Asia Cultural Studies," and "Asian Journal of Social Psychology."
America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal aritcles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
World Wide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts for the literature of political science, international relations, government and public policy
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns and reviews that provide diverse perspectives and viewpoints. This resource is especially useful for researching cultural life in the diaspora.
Project Muse
Project Muse provides full-text access to over 300 journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences, including " Meridians: feminism, race, transnationalism," "Canadian Ethnic Studies," and " Race/Ethnicity: Multidisciplinary Global Perspectives," among others.

Journal of Asian American Studies
The official journal of the Association for Asian American Studies publishing original scholarly essays, as well as book, media and exhibition reviews. Available online through the WSU Library databases, via Project Muse.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database containing abstracted citations to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work and other social sciences. Coverage from 1963-present.