Entries range from 200 to 3,000 words. Information includes culture areas and 307 alphabetically arranged articles on tribes and prehistoric culture traditions.

Contains mainly historical information, but also includes a chapter on contemporary issues, covering topics such as cultural renewal, tribal restoration and self-determination.

Entries include information on individual shamans and includes terminology in the original Native languages.

Alphabetically arranged entries include information on legendary, historical and contemporary Native American women. Also includes references for future research.

Includes information on the ceremonies, terms, and traditions of the tribal nations.

Chapters are divided by geographic region, and then alphabetically by tribe. Categories of dress include accessories, hairstyles, face and body embellishment, footwear, special costumes, armor and men’s and women’s basic dress. Many photographs are included to illustrate the rich tradition of Native American dress.

Unique in scope, this reference work includes information on the repatriation of Native American human remains and tribal objects, and the preservation of tribal sacred places. Also discussed are revival movements to preserve sacred sites, the retention of song and dance traditions and the maintenance of Native languages.

Contains brief sketches of 320 notable Native Americans. Coverage from the mid sixteenth century until 2004, with 50 essays on figures who were still living when the book went to press.

This is an extensive multivolume reference work that provides comprehensive information divided according to region. Also includes special volumes dedicated to Indian-White relations and native languages.

A heavily illustrated guide to the motifs, cultural groups, bead forms, artists, techniques, tools, forms and ornaments.

Notable events for each day of the year.

Provides a chronology of Native American accomplishments organized into categories, such as civic leadership, performing arts, tribal government, rights and activism.

Provides an overview of Native Peoples of the Western Hemisphere. Entries include information on tribes, customs, people, artifacts and folklore. Volume 7 also contains the texts of several treaties.

Chapters written by individual contributors include information on language, gender, cultural brokerage, labor, art, law, sovereignty and systems of knowledge.

A two volume work containing plates and illustrations of Native American artistic expressions.

The American Memory Project Website describes Edward Curtis’ 20 volume work as “one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced” Also available online through Northwestern University at http://curtis.library.northwestern.edu/

This is an extensive multivolume reference work that provides comprehensive information divided according to region. Also includes special volumes dedicated to Indian-White relations and native languages.

Includes over 4,000 citations of English texts by Native American writers, including fiction, letters, oratory, poetry, legends and nonfiction prose.

Brief histories of the field units of the Office of Indian Affairs, including the names of agents and subagents.

Includes four volumes of reports, debates, cases, legal decisions, treaties and acts pertaining to the relationship between the United States Government and Native Americans.

A three volume work containing 1,154 entries on Native tribes of both North and South America.