Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Map and Atlas Resources
Old Maps Online; Discovering the Cartography of the Past
Online historical maps from multiple collections, searchable in one interface. Search by geographical location and narrow by date.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
"The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented." www.davidrumsey.com
David Rumsey map collection in Digital Public Library of America
Search David Rumsey to view the more than 38,000 maps, globes, and other items in the collection
National Map Small Scale Collection
The National Map is now offering a collection of small-scale datasets that can be downloaded for free. Although the 1997-2014 Edition of the National Atlas of the United States was retired in September 2014, a collection of the small-scale datasets, originally developed for the National Atlas, is available to users.
Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection
Covers 300 years of maps for the Pacific Northwest, a collaboration between Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections of Washington State University and the University of Washington Libraries
Census Atlas of the United States
Comprehensive atlas of population and housing produced by the U.S. Census Bureau
Historical Maps of Washington
Link to early maps of Washington from before 1860 to 1950.
China Map Online
Distributed by the China Data Center of the University of Michigan, the China Map Online offers the largest collection of statistical maps with more than 8 million maps for the demographic and business data of China. Those maps provide comprehensive information of China at province, city, county and township levels.
American Panorama, an Atlas of United States History
American Panorama features U.S. history research topics through map visualizations. Topics: enforced migration of enslaved people, canals, overland trails, and the foreign-born population. Includes sources.
Subjects:Accounting, Taxation & Finance
, Asian Studies
, Economic Sciences
, Ethnic Studies
, Film Studies
, Foreign Languages & Literatures
, Hospitality Business Management