It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography by Charles Scribners Sons Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Owen Reference Q141 .C55 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-13
This is the first new edition of the acclaimed Dartmouth Medal-winning Dictionary since 1981. It integrates the 5,100 biographies from the base set with the 400 biographies found in the Supplement, and includes photos and portraits of the most-studied scientists.
Come by and browse the shelves! Here are the call numbers where you can find most mathmeatical topics in the reference collection on the 1st floor or on the 4th floor of the Owen Science and Engineering Library.
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society presents some 490 articles showing the math behind our daily lives, explaining to students how and why math works, and allowing readers to better understand how disciplines such as algebra, geometry, calculus, and others affect what we do every day.
Authoritative and reliable, this superb reference contains more than 3,000 alphabetically arranged entries, providing clear jargon-free definitions of even the most technical mathematical terms.
The CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics, Third Edition by Eric W. Weisstein
Call Number: Owen Reference QA5 .W45 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-19
CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics now contains nearly 12,000 entries. Each article provides definitions, formulas, illustrations, web links, bibliographic information, and facts from mathematics, the sciences, and engineering.
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics by Timothy Gowers (Editor); June Barrow-Green (Editor); Imre Leader (Editor)
Call Number: Owen Reference QA11.2 .P745 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-08
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics gives fairly full explanations for most mathematical concepts.
The Mathematical Atlas offers a visual view of the topics and subtopics of mathematics. It is helpful in understanding the Mathematics Subject Classification used by MATHSCINET and ZENTRALBLATT MATH. Mathematical Atlas also directs the reader to special software and websites. See for instance “Fourier analysis.
The Wiley Online Library provides access to many texts in mathematics. There is a list on the right of the webpage which breaks the texts into about 35 subfields of mathematics. Only those titles showing an icon of an open padlock are available to the reader.