LibGuides: Elevating Cougs 2025: Maximizing Your WSU Libraries: Resources at the WSU Libraries

Highlights

An Institutional subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education
Create an account using your WSU email address and you will have full access on- and off-campus when you are logged in to the CHE with it.
The Chronicle newsletters are an easy and convenient way to keep up - just make an account/sign in at the link in the upper right corner).
Office Delivery (Pullman,Vancouver, and Tri-Cities campuses)
Google Scholar Customization
Setting Up Your Google Scholar and Using It with WSU Libraries Off-Campus Access Options
Browzine
"An interface provided by the company Third Iron, BrowZine allows patrons to browse and stay current with the electronic journals in their academic fields. BrowZine provides multiple entry points to connect with scholarly materials, including: via the BrowZine web and mobile applications and from within Search It."
Interlibrary Loan Services
For books that are not available at the WSU Libraries or Summit (and that includes all checked out!)
For articles that the Libraries don't have online (if the Libraries has it in print you will get a scanned copy automatically)

We have fiction too!

Finding Books (and articles and more)

Search It
Washington State University's online catalog and discovery system, Search It provides access to books, articles, and more.

Starting from a concept:

educational leadership

Starting from a known item:

Educational leadership : perspectives, management and challenges

Digital leadership framework : cultivating the four key competencies/Prabhu, Amit,

Employee Assistance Programs in Higher Education

For books in Search It: Key subject headings

College campuses
Education
Health promotion
Wellness programs
higher education institutions
etc.

Key focus terms

academ* OR colleg* OR universit* OR "higher education"
academ* OR colleg* OR universit* OR "higher education" OR workplace

Locating Databases and Subject Resource Guides

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Includes trade publications as well as scholarly and popular publications
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)(H.W. Wilson)(XML)
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool for creating custom reports of data related to demographics, real estate, health, jobs, the environment, education and more. Data comes from authoritative public and proprietary sources. It has thousands of indicators on demographics, the economy, housing, lending, quality of life, education, health, and more. Data is available at the neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, depending on the data.

Specific Publications

Inside Higher Ed
(You can create a free account to get more than five articles/month)
The Journal of Human Resources
coverage limitations :-(
The Successful Registrar

Your Search Toolkit

There are six usual ways to search:

Keywords (truncation/wildcards, phrase searching, connectors & intersections (Boolean operators), grouping)

Limits/filters

Subject terms - controlled vocabulary/taxonomy

"Tracings" - author name links, etc. (think old school card catalog searching)

Sorting

Netwoks - citing patterns, etc.

uTerms: Keywords and Synonyms

uExample (see also: https://xkcd.com/2108)

uPhrase Searching

u“immersive learning” “immersive technology”

uTruncation/Wildcards: Virtual realit*| learn*| policy OR policies

uConnectors and Intersections – Boolean logic (AND, OR (NOT, Within, Near):

uImmersive learning OR virtual reality learning OR augmented reality learning OR mixed reality

u“Immersive learning” language acquisition (would literacy be better?)

uGrouping (and putting it all together!):

uOne box: (immersive OR “virtual reality” OR “augmented reality) learning language* (this could be better…)

uMultiple boxes (often in Advanced Search mode – which is always preferred):

uLanguage

uLearn* (or maybe learning?)

uimmersive OR “virtual reality” OR “augmented reality” OR “mixed reality”