A standard is "rule for the measure of quantity, weight, extent, value, or quality" which is "set up and established by authority."
(Based on Webster's Third New International Dictionary: the English Language Unabridged. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster Inc. Publishers, 1993.)
To locate a standard, you should (ideally) know the following:
Other specialized indexes exist for military standards, federal standards, foreign national standards, etc. These indexes are identified and cited in the respective sections below. Links are provided to the web version of an index where one is available.
Where to Find Standard Names
If you would like to do a keyword search to discover a standard number you can use the following resources. Be aware, these resources will charge you to view the actual standard. Therefore, these resources are best used to discover standard names/numbers (but not the full-text).
Techstreet Standard Store - Allows users to search across a wide variety of standards for names and applications.
ANSI Webstore - Provides a searchable database of The American Nation Standards Institute standards.
ISO Standards Catalog - The International Standards Organization provides information regarding names and numbers of their standards.
These series include many that are limited to clients at WSU.
Standards can also be found in the WSU Search It catalog by limiting source type to "standards."
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.
Standards available on the ANSI IBR Portal include those developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and other standards developing organizations (SDOs) that have signed a terms and conditions agreement with ANSI. To access the standards in PDF format, go to the link below. All users will be required to install the FileOpen plug-in and accept an online end user license agreement prior to accessing any standards.
In addition to the standards available directly through the portal, several SDOs are offering free access via their own website. Links are provided below.
If you need assistance determining whether the library has access to a specific standard, please call the Libraries' Information Desk at (509) 335-9671.
Specific standards not owned by WSU may be requested using the purchase request form below.
