Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FS 510 Library Research Guide

Dr. Thuy N. Bernhard . FS 510 - Functional Foods & Health

Getting Started

wsu_analog_computer

Washington State University. Office of University Publications and Printing (1955). "Industrial Research - McIlroy Analyzer." From the WSU Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections

 

As WSU students and researchers you have full access to WSU scholarly resources. There are several ways to connect to resources depending upon what you want to do.

If you are on a WSU campus, research databases should be automatically available without even logging into your WSU account.

If you are off campus, you can connect to research databases either through the "library portal" or through a virtual private network (VPN). 

The VPN will also allow you to access secure WSU servers and networks.

Using the WSU Library Webpages to Connect to Scholarly Databases

If you are on a WSU campus, research databases should be automatically available without even logging into your WSU account.

If you are off campus, you can connect to research databases either through the WSU Libraries' website or through a virtual private network (VPN).

To connect to research databases via the WSU Libraries' website, follow these steps:

1. Go to libraries.wsu.edu or use the links in the "Find Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Research" tab of this research guide.

2. Sign into your session with your WSU ID. This will give you full access to the scholarly databases.

Using a Global Protect VPN to Connect to Databases and Networks

In some circumstances it may be best to use a virtual private network (VPN) to utilize WSU resources.

The WSU VPN, Global Protect, provides authenticated and encrypted access to resources such as the administration of departmental servers, administrative systems and applications, research resources, and/or systems that house sensitive information.

Here's a 4:28 minute introduction to Global Protect VPN from its creators:

For information regarding installing the Global Protect VPN see these links:

Installing Global Protect VPN – Mac/Linux

Installing Global Protect VPN – Windows

For technical information and support regarding using Global Protect VPN please refer to the WSU Information Technology Services.

Using the Proxy Booklet VPN Browser Plugin

The WSU "Proxy Bookmarklet" is a plugin for your web browser that works like a VPN and allows you to access library resources while you are off campus. Here is information on utilizing WSU's Proxy Service.

 

I *personally* prefer to connect to library resources via WSU Libraries' websites (e.g. through a guide like this one or via the libraries.wsu.edu website). That said, many researchers like to use the proxy service.

 

This 1:35 minute video from WSU shows provides an introduction to the Proxy Bookmarklet:

 

Having Trouble Connecting?

Here's a basic WSU guide with some connectivity assistance and troubleshooting

You can also virtually chat with a librarian 24/7! Direct message or email a librarian for help.

You can also email me or schedule a time to meet virtually.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us