Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities 101 - Flathers

Finding Articles and Books

Search It is a good place to start exploring your options for books and journal articles. This "discovery system" pulls resources from numerous databases and puts it into one place (like a search engine). To find articles, other good databases for this course are Project Muse and MLA International Bibliography. Both are subject-specific databases that have numerous literary-related articles.

To use Search It, type in your keywords. If you want articles, select Peer-Reviewed under Availability and Articles under Type. You'll then either click on Download Article, or click on the title and scroll down to Access Options, and click on the database link. Make sure you are logged into Search It. You will then see a green link that says Full Text Available. Click on this to get the full article. For books, same thing: Select books and/or eBooks under Type.

When searching for books and articles on your topic, use any combination of the play's name; the author; the main characters; or the themes. Here are a couple of examples in Search It! You can try the same searches in the below databases to see how your results differ. You can try the same searches for both books or articles, just select the type of resource you want on the left side under Type.

Other Useful Databases

Sometimes Search It can be overwhelming - too many results to sift through! To find more targeted search results for peer-reviewed articles, use a subject-specific database to get results that are concentrated in literary studies.

Accessing Print and Electronic Books: COVID Edition

The library will be closed during the Fall 2020 semester. However, you can still check out print books and other physical materials, as we can mail them to your place of residence. For those of you on campus, we have contactless pickup available in lockers outside of the library. To request one of these options, make sure you are logged in to Search It. When you click on the item title and scroll down, click on the Request Item button and select your preference. NOTE: If you request home delivery, make sure that your address is correct in your student account, OR enter it in the notes field when making the request.

For information on these options, and for tutorials on a wide range of information regarding access to materials, please see the "How Do I" page (link below).

Many eBooks in our collection can be accessed online from anywhere, using your WSU NetID and password. Some of these books have unlimited licenses, meaning that they may be viewed and checked out by any number of users, and some are more restricted. To read a full book offline, you must download certain software that allows you to "check it out" for a certain period of time. However, you may read the full book online without technically checking it out. In some cases, you can download a chapter or a certain percentage of the book as a PDF to keep forever. See the links below for information.

One eBook program we participate in is called HathiTrust ETAS. If you see this listed on a red button on a book record, click on it, and then on the next page, click on Log In on the top right. This will ensure you get access to the book.

If we do not have access to a book or article, we can order it from another library for free! Please see the instructions for ordering via Summit (books) and Interlibrary Loan (books, articles, and more) in the How Do I link below, or contact me (Erin Hvizdak) with questions.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us