Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 300: Refugees in World History

Using Search It for Journal Articles

Search It is a good place to start exploring your options for journal articles. This "discovery system" pulls resources from numerous databases and puts it into one place (like a search engine). When you know more about your topic it is best to search specific databases (listed below) to get more focused results.

To use Search It, type in your keywords and select Peer-Reviewed under Availability and Articles under Type. You'll then either click on Download Article, or click on the title and scroll down to Access Options, and click on the database link. Make sure you are logged into Search It.

The examples below or broad, but you will want to try searching for specific countries or groups; specific events; or specific organizations. Searching only "refugee" or "persecution" will bring back too many results. Also, if necessary, try to search for multiple variations of the place or population name (e.g. Holland AND Netherlands). Further, if you are specifically looking for History articles, you will want to make sure the journal is published in the discipline of history. We will talk more about this in a library session.

Journal Article Databases for Historical Topics

These databases index scholarly/academic journals. You may also find dissertations, conference proceedings, book reviews, magazine articles, and books among your search results, but each of these databases allows you to limit your results to academic journals. These allow you to target your searches a little better in history; further, you can select your subject area when doing your searches so it will limit to journals in that field.

Additional Subject Databases

Your research might intersect with additional subject areas, such as politics, medicine, and religion. The databases below are specialized subject databases indexing resources in disciplines that might relate to your topic. After searching the standard subject databases for history (listed above) you might also try searching for your topic in a secondary relevant subject database. There are MANY more available - click on the Databases button underneath the main search box on the libraries homepage.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us