Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Some reviewers call Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The accolades and praise go on for the newest addition to Gales line of reference titles. The original 13-vol. set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, Gale enlisted prominent advisors and contributors from the international scientific community to incorporate recent developments in the animal world. Our new editions of Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.

This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader. * Features over 150 pictures, anatomical drawings, tables, and diagrams * Provides entertaining sidebars and interesting facts throughout the encyclopedia * Contains a bibliography and index to aid in study * The comprehensive glossary contains more than 600 terms used in the text

Developmental biology is at the core of biological science, integrating molecular biology, genetics and anatomy. The past 15 years has seen revolutionary advances not only in our understanding of the processes by which an egg develops into an adult, but also in the application of this knowledge to the areas of reproductive technology, drug development and organ replacement. Essential Developmental Biology is a concise and well-illustrated treatment of this subject for undergraduates. Assuming no prior knowledge of anatomy and only the basics of cell biology and genetics, the book starts off by introducing the principles and approaches of developmental biology. The second section covers the characteristic development of each of the principal model species used for research and the final chapters are devoted to organ development, predominantly in vertebrates. With an emphasis throughout on the evidence underpinning the main conclusions, this book is suitable as the key text for both introductory and more advanced courses in developmental biology. A new approach to a widely taught subject. Priced for student purchase at approximately half the price of the main competition. Over 200 illustrations, with artwork available free on the Web. Well-known author/media celebrity.

Hundreds of well-illustrated articles explore the most important fields of science. The entries are supplemented by conversion tables, explanations of scientific, technical and mathematical notations as well as tables of statistical and historical interest.

Encyclopedia of Biology is a definitive reference that provides current, authoritative information on the subject for high school and college students. The encyclopedia contains approximately 800 A-to-Z entries, nine prose essays on important topics, 80 line illustrations, and 75 black-and-white photographs. Comprehensive coverage of leading discoveries in biology along with general biology definitions, thought-provoking essays, and biographies of notable biologists present a wide range of valuable information compiled into a single source. Written in an easy-to-understand format, the book helps explain the importance of biology to society, and includes summaries of notable events throughout history related to the discipline. An emphasis on ""hot"" topics combined with detailed coverage of the fundamental issues, figures, ideas and concepts, experiments, and history of biology make the encyclopedia current and relevant to student interests. The book guides readers to the latest websites and most recent resources on the Internet that relate to biology. Appendixes include all Nobel Prize winners in biology, a review of biology-related computer software, and the complete Periodic Table of Elements.

This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors, and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy, and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. Fully illustrated and clearly written, it is suitable for scholars and students as well as the general reader. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.

An international team of biologists, philosophers, and historians of science explores the critically important process of replication in biological and biomedical research Without replication, the trustworthiness of scientific research remains in doubt. Although replication is increasingly recognized as a central problem in many scientific disciplines, repeating the same scientific observations of experiments or reproducing the same set of analyses from existing data is remarkably difficult. In this important volume, an international team of biologists, philosophers, and historians of science addresses challenges and solutions for valid replication of research in medicine, ecology, natural history, agriculture, physiology, and computer science.   After the introduction to important concepts and historical background, the book offers paired chapters that provide theoretical overviews followed by detailed case studies. These studies range widely in topics, from infectious-diseases and environmental monitoring to museum collections, meta-analysis, bioinformatics, and more. The closing chapters explicate and quantify problems in the case studies, and the volume concludes with important recommendations for best practices.

Individuals are things that everybody knows--or thinks they do. Yet even scholars who practice or analyze the biological sciences often cannot agree on what an individual is and why. One reason for this disagreement is that the many important biological individuality concepts serve very different purposes--defining, classifying, or explaining living structure, function, interaction, persistence, or evolution. Indeed, as the contributors to Biological Individuality reveal, nature is too messy for simple definitions of this concept, organisms too quirky in the diverse ways they reproduce, function, and interact, and human ideas about individuality too fraught with philosophical and historical meaning. Bringing together biologists, historians, and philosophers, this book provides a multifaceted exploration of biological individuality that identifies leading and less familiar perceptions of individuality both past and present, what they are good for, and in what contexts. Biological practice and theory recognize individuals at myriad levels of organization, from genes to organisms to symbiotic systems. We depend on these notions of individuality to address theoretical questions about multilevel natural selection and Darwinian fitness; to illuminate empirical questions about development, function, and ecology; to ground philosophical questions about the nature of organisms and causation; and to probe historical and cultural circumstances that resonate with parallel questions about the nature of society. Charting an interdisciplinary research agenda that broadens the frameworks in which biological individuality is discussed, this book makes clear that in the realm of the individual, there is not and should not be a direct path from biological paradigms based on model organisms through to philosophical generalization and historical reification.