LibGuides: Bibliographic Management Resources: Home

Bibliographic Software Options

EndNote/EndNote Basic and Zotero are supported, but if you have questions about a different reference management tool (i.e. Mendeley or ReadCube), email Lorena at oenglish @ wsu.edu and she may be able to help you.

WSU Pullman people - use the links below.

WSU Vancouver people - the person who used to teach Zotero is no longer there - this page will be updated once I know if someone else has taken this on. I don't know about EndNote, so for now use the EndNote link below

WSU Spokane people - Use the link below for Zotero classes; for Endnote Basic (and soon EndNote) email spok.lib AT wsu.edu

WSU Tri-Cities people, WSU Everett people, and WSU Extension people - use the links below

EndNote @ WSU (EndNote/EndNote Basic)
EndNote Basic is a bibliographic management tool that offers sophisticated editing capabilities to prepare professional publications, dissertations, and theses. Of course it also manages citations, abstracts, and other elements of resource information. EndNote Basic is a lighter, web-based reference management tool that integrates with EndNote or that can be used on its own (free to WSU users because we subscribe to the Web of Science database).
Zotero @ WSU
Zotero is a free/mium, open source reference management application. Zotero allows you to easily save articles found in library subscription databases such as Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, JSTOR, and PubMed, as well as bibliographic details, PDFs or other files, comments/notes, and indexing terms. Most saved PDFs are searchable. Zotero also captures bibliographic information and live screenshots for Web content such as webpages, blog posts, newspaper articles, Amazon books, and images on sites such as Flickr. When you are ready to write, you can use Zotero to integrate your references into your work in many citation styles using MS Word or LibreOffice. References can be backed up and shared between computers and even with other people over the Web. Zotero includes in-app PDF annotation.

Scholarly Communication

Scholarly Communication Resource Guide

The dissemination of research and information through the scholarly journal has in recent years become prohibitively expensive. Explore this site to learn more about the costs of Scholarly Communication and new alternatives.

scholarly communication vocabulary word cloud

Citation Analysis

Finding Citation Counts Using Web of Science and Other Sources
Consult this page for more detailed information about citation analysis (tracing citation patterns to discover new, related, resources; tracing the impact (measured by citation) of individual publications).

Libraries

Bibliographic Management Resources

Bibliographic Software Options

Scholarly Communication

Citation Analysis