Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This library guide has been designed for students enrolled in Professor Barclay's WST/CES/SOC 300 course.
This library guide explores the following topics:
- Identifying primary sources related to a potential topic
- Identifying scholarly resources such as journal articles, books, and collections of essays.
If you have questions about locating sources, please feel free to contact Gabriella Reznowski, the librarian for this session: firstname.lastname@example.org
Topical Digital Collections and Archives
Resources for Legal Research
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
Justia provides free case law, codes, regulations and legal information for lawyers, business, students and consumers world wide
Primary Source Databases and Collections
As a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (now the Big Ten Academic Alliance), the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections. Full-text of works that are out of copyright or in the public domain are available for viewing or searching.
The Digital Public Library of America
"The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
Pew Research Center
This site provides access to the results of public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data collected by the Pew Research Center.
American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
National Archives Catalog Search
Search the catalog of the National Archives to access primary source materials in digitized form, including, documents, images, and videos.
A collection of cross-disciplinary sources spanning the 20th century. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Milestone Documents in World History
A searchable ebook of key documents from world events and cultures.
Making of the Modern World
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from 1450-1914, and pre-1906 serials.
Other Examples of Primary Sources
Recording Artist 2-Mex Shares his Experience After Losing Part of a Limb to Diabetes
Data from Government Reports
Diabetes and Hispanic Americans
National Diabetes Statistics Report, 2017
"Health Insurance Status, Cost-Related Medication Underuse, and Outcomes Among Diabetes Patients in Three Systems of Care." Medical Care 42, no. 2 (2004): 102-09.
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
Historical New York Times
Full-text access to the New York Times from Jan. 01, 1851- Dec. 31, 2008
19th Century US Newspapers
This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Historical Seattle Times
Archival access to the Seattle Times Newspaper, 1896-1984.
A searchable database of historical American newspaper articles published between 1836 and 1922.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Database
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Eugenics Review Online
The official organ for the Eugenics Society in England, The Eugenics Review first appeared in 1909 and was published continuously until this, its final volume under that title. In 1969, the publication was reformulated as the Journal of Biosocial Science and continues today.