For 24/7 remote access to library subscription electronic resources using your WSU Network ID and password try the following:
If we do not have immediate online access to an article sign in to the library catalog record for the item to request an electronic copy through interlibrary loan. You will receive a libraries-do-not-reply Document Delivery Notification(usually within a few hours) when it has been filled.
The Health Sciences Library is located in the Kirk H. Schulz Academic Center(SAC) building on the second and third floors. Spokane students and faculty may access the library 24/7 with their CougarCard. Study rooms are available on the Health Sciences Library upper floor for small groups.
The interlibrary loan service allows students, faculty, and staff to acquire journal articles and books that are not immediately available through the WSU Health Sciences Library collection. Find the SearchIT catalog record for the item using the DOI/PMID lookup or search for the title. Login to the SearchIT catalog record for an item to quickly autofill the interlibrary loan request form. If you are unable to locate a catalog record for the item a blank form is linked below.
Pediatric Nutrition, 9th ed
by
Significantly revised and updated by more than 100 contributors, the ninth edition provides the latest evidence-based guidance on the full spectrum of nutrition issues for newborns, infants, children and adolescents. Constituting the authoritative AAP policy on pediatric nutrition, topics covered include nutritional guidance for all pediatric age groups; micronutrients and macronutrients; nutrient delivery systems; nutrition issues relating to a wide rang of acute and chronic illnesses; and public health issues such as food insecurity, federal regulation, and food safety. New in the 9th Edition Sustainability Organic Foods GMOs Revamped guidance on obesity, reflecting the latest AAP policy statement Topics include: Nutrient-Gene Intreractions Feeding the Infant Feeding the Child and Adolescent Micronutrients and Macronutrients Nutrient Delivery Systems Nutrition in Acute and Chronic Illness Nutrition and Public Health
Treating Athletes with Eating Disorders
by
This book provides readers with concrete, tangible tools for treating athletes with eating disorders by discussing issues that are unique to this population and introducing specific ideas to help facilitate recovery among this population.
ACSM's Sports Medicine: a Comprehensive Review
by
The field of sports medicine is evolving, accelerated by emerging technologies and changing health care policies. To stay up to speed and ace the Boards, you need a resource that moves at your pace. Sanctioned by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), this handy review addresses all areas of the sports medicine subspecialty board examination--with coverage that spans the full spectrum of sports medicine, from medical to skeletal conditions related to the athlete. The editors and authors include orthopedic surgeons, family physicians, pediatricians, internal medicine specialists, physiatrists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, psychologists, nutritionists, exercise physiologists and more, ensuring that you'll benefit from the broad spectrum of expertise embraced by the specialty. Look inside and explore... * Seven convenient sections address general considerations, evaluation of the injured athlete, medical problems, musculoskeletal problems, principles of rehabilitation, sports-specific populations, and special populations. * Comprehensive coverage includes all topic areas featured on sports medicine subspecialty board exams. * Easy-access bulleted format makes essential facts simple to locate and recall. * Tables, figures, and algorithms make complex ideas easy to grasp and retain. PLUS... * An online companion resource includes nearly 1,000 board-style practice questions with rationale for correct and incorrect responses--a great way to test your knowledge and improve your exam performance!
ACSM's Nutrition for Exercise Science, 2nd ed.
by
An invaluable resource for both exercise science majors and non-majors, ACSM's Nutrition for Exercise Science, 2nd Edition, demystifies the relationship between nutrition and exercise science and prepares you to confidently apply concepts to clinical practice. Drawing on author Dan Benardot's extensive experience as an instructor, scientist, this engaging, authoritative text delivers an evidence-based yet accessible exploration of how nutrition impacts various aspects of active populations, from general health to muscle development, exercise recovery, injury prevention, and psychological well-being. Real-world examples and case studies bring difficult concepts to life, equipping you with the knowledge and confidence to support the nutritional needs of active populations throughout your healthcare career. ● NEW! Comparative Case Studies at the end of each chapter challenge students to apply what they've learned to varying active populations from endurance athletes to power-training athletes to team sports participants. ● Practical Application Activity boxes provide engaging practice assessing diets, analyzing energy balances, and other professional tasks. ● Chapter-opening Case Studies with discussion questions foster the critical thinking skills essential to real-world application. ● Important Factors to Consider boxes throughout chapters reinforce critical chapter points.
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 12th ed
by
Get scientifically based, evidence-informed standards that prepare you for success -- from the source you trust! ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 12th Edition, from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, provides authoritative, succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy populations and individuals with conditions or special considerations. Lippincott Connect is available for this title. If you wish to purchase a package that includes Lippincott Connect see other purchase options. Now fully up to date from cover to cover, this flagship title is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health care professionals who may counsel patients on exercise, including physicians, nurses, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, personal trainers, team physicians, and more. Updated content reflects current ACSM guidance on best practices for exercise testing and prescription, based on changes in the field and advances in research. Expanded coverage on the application of exercise testing and prescription in applied settings, as well as updated coverage on behavioral theories and resistance training. Reader-friendly features include abbreviations and common acronyms listed up front; boxes, tables, and figures that highlight key concepts in quick-reference, easy-to-digest formats; case studies that reflect real-world experience; FITT tables that apply Frequency, Intensity, Time, and Type principles; and useful appendices on common medications, ECG interpretation tips, metabolic calculations, and more. Updated and expanded student and instructor resources reflect all changes in the 12th edition, making this title a must-have resource for students, independent learners, and educators, as well as fitness professionals, allied health professionals, and others who care for active adults.
